Traveling through space and time...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Syracuse
December 30th 2008
Published: December 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So travel blogs are supposed to be about traveling, obviously. But aren't we all traveling all the time? To and from work. Through different realms of consciousness while we're asleep. Between feelings and emotions. As Ani DiFranco says, promiscuity is just another way to see the world.

I will be taking off to Spain shortly, but I want to state that this blog isn't going to be merely about what building I saw or how many train rides I took. It will be about that and much more. It will be any words that I want to publish here, that will travel through the internet and to your screen, if you so choose to read it. This blog is going to be about me, traveling through the different continents of me, learning and meeting all different forms and expressions of myself along the way. I'm going to write about what I learn, and what I don't learn. I'm going to write about the choices that I make and why I make them. I'm going to write about travel in all the ways that I experience it, whether that is sitting in one place or jetting around the world.

I wanted to make this clear to myself, define my rules about blogs that fall under an umbrella category, like travel, that really I can just write about whatever I want to.

So, while I am still here, in Syracuse NY, I'll write about that and my preparations for my upcoming trip. It's snowing here, like usual, which isn't terrible, but what really gets to me is how dark it is by 4:30PM. I've been rolling spare change from my piggy bank and stealing other people's spare change to add to my rolls. I've almost rolled $100 in pennies, nickles and dimes. I'm sure it doesn't sound fun, but I actually really like doing it. There is something soothing in the repetitiveness of it, the counting, the organizing. I like making stacks. I like seeing my mound of change getting smaller. Maybe there is also something to be said about the effort that it takes, not that it is hard, just a task that isn't necessarily high on anyone's list, but that feels kind of rewarding in the end. If I had a tail, I'd be wagging it at this point.

I'm feeling anxious to go. Excited too. There is also that nagging feeling about not having enough money, but I'm choosing to ignore it as much as possible. Law of attraction, right? If I want money, happiness, shoes I've just got to put it out there and receive my good fortunes.

When I'm running (which is a form of travel, even though I run on a treadmill, which can be boring) I'm thinking about traveling. I'm seeing myself in Barcelona, happy and healthy. I see myself running that marathon in March, marveling at the the scenery and my opportunity to be there and a part of it all. I'm seeing myself in the moment, in the moment of the future, visualizing the joy that's coming. I try to do that rather than being in the moment of me running, step after step, on a treadmill, in a gym, with TV's all around and 9 more miles to go.

Yeah, I'm traveling all the time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb