Home Again, Home Again, Jiggidy Jog


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Rockville Centre
February 27th 2014
Published: March 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

The last two nights of our adventure were spent in Florence, SC. The hotel receptionist recommended we eat at Fatz Restaurant the first night there and it turned out to be a very good choice. Since we were first time diners, the waitress brought us a free sample of their Callabas chicken. I don't know what the callabas meant, but it was very good fried chicken breast, so I decided to order it and was very glad I did. Jim and I both enjoyed the last of our sweet tea - until our next trip south.

After a rainy day spent inside the hotel room and after listening to the weather reports, we decided to head for home. The weather didn't sound so great even where we were and we decided we'd rather be home than sit in a hotel somewhere in the cold and rain/snow. We had talked about spending a day in Washington D.C., but the weather didn't seem so good there either, so we got on I95 and headed north. It had been quite a while since we drove this section of road and it was fun seeing the new South of the Border signs with all the .com additions. I was glad to see that my favorite sign, "You Never Sausage a Place," was still there. :D We hit Washington, D.C. at 3:30, just as the afternoon traffic started getting heavy. Our GPS, Jill, kept us off I95 and rerouted us all over the place from Washington through Baltimore. We sure seemed to be going out of the way, but who knows if she did us a favor by keeping us off I95 or not. I guess we'll never know. We did stop at Rosario's in Rosedale, MD, around 6:00 for dinner and, as I was the one who drove most of the way in Washington traffic, I rewarded myself with a nice glass of red wine.

One thing we noticed was that the further north we got, the more snow we saw on the ground and the colder the outside temperature became. When we left Florence at 10:00 am, the temperature was 56 degrees; by the time we crossed the Goethels Bridge and were welcomed to New York, it had dropped to 19 degrees. Yeah, right...welcome to New York. 😞 We got back to Rockville Centre around 10:30 pm and stopped first for groceries. As we always said when the boys were little and we came back from a trip - "home again, home again, jiggidy jog." In the next day or so (probably during this coming snowstorm), I'm going to sit down and write one more blog as I think back over this long and wonderful trip - what did we do right? what would we change? how can we travel better in the future?

Advertisement



8th March 2014

Am glad you had a nice trip. I sure enjoyed reading about all your adventures and am going to go back and re-read and take down names of places you liked to visit and eat so when (if) we get there we know some interesting places to go. Hope the weather is a little better back home when we return than it was for you. Think I would have headed back south again!!

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1016kb