Last hours in the U.S.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Queens
May 30th 2012
Published: May 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Sitting in a restaurant in the slightly gross JFK airport, realizing how spoiled we are in Indiana with our brand-new facilities...

A close friend reminded me today that 2 weeks from now would be 1 year since my last trip to Europe. It's amazing how much can happen to someone during an abroad experience and the aftermath.

Last June I flew to Venice with my mother and her mother for a trip that was bound to be the ultimate bonding experience. At that point I was in a completely different mental state from the one I am in now. With a rocky ending to my relationship with my high school boyfriend, I was only beginning to remember what a strong woman I could be by myself. In contrast, I'm starting this trip with the knowledge that even by myself, I can do anything. I will be by myself while I'm in Spain, but certainly not alone. I plan to make new friends, also remembering the sweet and supportive boyfriend, caring family, and loyal friends I have at home.

For the past week or so I dipped in and out of apprehension, denial, and sadness at the prospect of leaving home for 5 weeks. Surprisingly, I have not been away from my family for this long in my whole life, even after a year at college. I’m lucky to see my family often since we all live in the same state. Now though, I couldn't be more ready and excited to have my own adventure.

Here's to the first stage of culture shock: euphoria. 😊

So much can happen in a year. The music changes, friendships grow and transform, people persist in wearing Uggs, and I finish my freshman year of college having done everything I dreamed of doing.

It's time to grow some more. And I'm ready for the next plane ride of my journey and for everything that is to come.

So call me maybe? And by that I mean leave a comment 😊

Advertisement



1st June 2012

Proud of you
We are so proud of you, Cat. Keep building your buildings and have fun! Love you lots. Mom and Dad.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb