Day 50: New York City and the trip home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
August 24th 2011
Published: September 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ramya and I decided to spend my last morning in NY together having some quality time, so we (/I) decided we should go anf get a manicure/pedicure, especially since I had never had one before. It was really relaxing and good fun, although the women were a bit annoying in demanding more tip so that it ended up being quite expensive. I then blew the last of my dollars on some New York pizza, which I have to say wan't all that great. It's an experience ticked off though.

Back at Ramya's falt we procrastinated a bit by putting together the new desk chair she had bought online, which proved pretty tricky for two girls with Oxford degrees. We triumphed eventually, and I then had the mammoth task of trying to jam everything into my tiny backpack. I did this whilst talking to Rachel on Skype which slowed down proceedings somewhat too. Anyway, once it was all crammed it I headed for the subway, petrified of getting delayed and missing my flight like Abu did last week.

It turned out this was a wise choice since I got hopelessly lost and ended up completely the wrong end of Manhattan. This was not helped by the fact that none of the stations have network maps, so once you step off a train it's impossible to work out which one to get back onto. Luckily a nice woman took me under her wing and showed me which trains to get, and 2 hours later I finally got to the right terminal of JFK. From there: through security, onto my flight, onto the London Underground and met outside St Pauls Catherdral by Simon (he works near there). Home at last!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.8kb