Summer in the City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
July 19th 2008
Published: July 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It is hard to believe that my summer in the city is coming to an end. My time in New York had been highly anticipated and it came and went faster than I can believe. Our NYC summer started a month prior to when we had initially planned and therefore also ended a month earlier, however the timing in many ways is perhaps better. Lisa and I and the girls run around town and through the park and then sometimes we spend a day in our living room in our pajamas next to the air conditioner trying to recover. We have all passed around sicknesses and it seems at any one time, at least one of us is not feeling so hot, actually one of us is always feeling really hot. I am finally feeling quite recovered from a week of feeling like crap, yesterday I literally thought my head was going to implode and my body parts were going to detach, but today I feel brand new. Unfortunately Aurora has been not doing well for 2 days now and her head to know was very warm. We noticed a brand new tooth had sprouted and we hope that her not feeling well is more teething related, however whatever the case I can only pray for a happy baby on our flight home tomorrow night. Monte came home from work tonight and is also thinking he may be coming down with something. Lucky for him we will be out of his hair tomorrow, not so lucky he will not have anyone to take care of him and sadly he will have to be away from his family for the next 10 weeks.

We were not able to go to any rehearsals on the trip which we had been looking forward to, but that will bring forth an element of surprise for our return in October when we will get to see the actual concert. That should be fun! Lisa and I realized today while having our last day in CP in the playground and feeding the birds, that our return in October may delight us with the bright oranges, reds and warm browns of autumn. Being LA girls and not really experiencing much of the changes of seasons, we both are quite excited for the beauty the fall will bring. Let us hope our timing is right.

Today Marissa came over and joined us on our last day. Marissa is another one of Lisa's close friends that I went to school with and spent some time with in previous years. Our time was short but we had a good time, playing tourist and paparazzi on one another as our foreheads dripped sweat in the dead heat and we tried to stuff frozen fruit bars down our throats. There were no squirrels to be found today but the pigeons loved us and our old bread. Feeding the birds like a crazy lady may be a favorite park past time for me now.

I feel a little out of the loop on my normal life. I have not talked to my friends at home in so long but I have received some great messages from a few of them. (thanks those of you that should know who I am speaking of, you make me remember how loved I am). I love getting messages of encouragement, messages and comments about keeping up with my adventures and messages just telling me I am missed. I heart you all. 😊

I will be home in a couple of days and I have a lot of catching up to do on life and people and things I must do and see. My reunion is coming up and there a few things we need to get done to feel more up to par with the flow of it all. I can not wait to have this reunion over with. Of course the last thing I should be doing is going out of town again, however I am happy that I will be leaving on August 1-9th to go to Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo with Cindy, Craig and Aiden. I have never been there and I have been craving something more tropical. I love Mexican food! lol I am looking forward to being at the beach and relaxing too. Aiden is a great 4 year old and of course I always love being with kids so it will be fun. I admit I am most worried about us going out on boats, I think Cindy is too because she wants me to hang with Aiden when the family snorkels and so I asked if Aiden and I can play on land... lol she did not sound so happy because she still wants him out on the boat. I am so nervous I am going to yack. OMG I hope I can keep it down. I am the worst boat passenger. Everyone start praying for me now.

So as I said, the time has come to say goodbye to the city, to the new friends I have made here, to the park we walk every other day, the pizza from the corner place, the lovely employees at our hotel that we have made friendships with, the smell of the corner of 58th and 6th (like crap by the way in case you were wondering), the clapping of the horses shoes and the crackling of the carriage wheels as tourists get a different view, the big piano at FAO, H & M and their cheap funky accessories, lights in Times Square, rats in the subway, metrocards, sweaty drippy foreheads, Poland Springs water, 1 mile walks to Whole Foods, Rice to Riches in SOHO, doing dishes in a sink with no garbage disposal, the sound of "Tomorrow" and Oompa Loompa's, the laughter of little kids, the cuddling and silliness of Ariel and the way Aurora crawls up to me, tugs on my pants, smiles and wants to be held then open mouth kisses my face and pinches my arm. I am really thankful to Lisa and Monte for a multitude of things this summer, the experience has been great and the time has gone too quickly. We have had a great time in New York and we got to see some places I always wanted to see. It will be strange to go home and not wake up and go to sleep each day saying good night and good morning to great friends and getting such love from 2 beautiful little girls. Thank goodness they only live 10 minutes away! Until my next adventure, thank you all for the love and I hope all is well in each of your lives.

Smiles and Hugs!
Erin

PS- If you have not seen my flickr account go here - http://www.flickr.com/photos/erinfisher where I post some of my better photos. 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0632s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb