Northeast Trip - Boldt Castle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Alexandria Bay
August 14th 2013
Published: September 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

More photos at: Picasa



The day started out overcast, and I was in the mood to do something other than hike, so I scrapped my hiking plans and headed west to Alexandria Bay and Boldt Castle. Boldt Castle was built by George Boldt between 1900 and 1904 on an island in the middle of the St. Lawrence River. When his wife died unexpectedly in 1904, work was stopped and never completed. Unlike the tours I took in Newport, RI, Boldt Castle was unguided and even allowed access to the unfinished areas. Also unlike the Newport tours, pictures were allowed. In addition to the main house I also toured the yacht house, which is on a separate island.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb