Travel to New Mexico


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Roswell
February 5th 2009
Published: February 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Windmill in KansasWindmill in KansasWindmill in Kansas

Windmills and Oil Rigs are the only horizon break on the Kansas plain! The windmill functions to pull up water into the adjucent pool to hydrate the cattle on the plain.

Wisconsin to New Mexico in Record Time



We have arrived... Chris had to come over the Sacramento Mountains from Alamogorda... and I had a little farther... I made the 1700 mile trek in a record 21 hours. Don't do the math on my miles/hour the Oklahoma State Troopers did that for all of us... Opps, I got off with a warning. I have to thank Erin Doyle and Jon Potter for jaw jacking with me on the trip. Erin was my internet searching vixen giving me the play by play of what was surrounding me as I drove - The Flint Hills National Monument of Kansas and the largest oil field in North America (It's underground can't see it but, my Lord can you smell it)! My favorite was the church built during the grasshopper epidemic and has grasshopper carcassess in the foundation. Although many mecca to this orthopod graveyard, I had to pass. I did have a tourist breakdown at Dorothy's Kansas house!! I have loved the Wizard of Oz for my entire life - I do have flying monkeys and I am not afraid to use them!!! With the journeys of relocation behind us Chris and
Oil Rigging on the Kansas PlainOil Rigging on the Kansas PlainOil Rigging on the Kansas Plain

This device is accompanied by the pungent fragrance of oil!! The ultimate scratch and sniff.
I are settling into the Cozy Cowboy, which is a cute little cottage decked out in all the cheesy cowboy decor you could imagine! We have started working and both like the small tertiary hospital!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Follow the Yellow Brick RoadFollow the Yellow Brick Road
Follow the Yellow Brick Road

My salt saturated kicks from 9 months in Wisconsin skipping down the Yellow Brick Road


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb