And in the end


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Rio Rancho
March 29th 2012
Published: March 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

29 March 17:25 MDT



I had forgotten how hectic things are here. Sorry for the delay in finishing this blog; thank you for all of your interest. Now for the finale.



The ride back to Jerusalem was entirely uneventful. Once back, I confirmed my airport transportation and walked to the city of David. The tour I paid for was in Hebrew, but it was my only opportunity to see it. I got a little confused and waited a while outside the archeologal park. I met two Russians, Sergei and Gregori, who were similarly lost. Eventually, I found the enterance I was supposed to be at in a nick of time. The woman at the ticket booth said "you know this tour is in Hebrew" " yes, but it is my only chance to see it" " there is an English tour at nine o'clock" "oh" so I got on that tour instead. In the meantime, I walked the city. Listened to a band playing in the cardo (Roman ruins of main street in town) and ate pizza with olives. The tour of the city of David was incredible. Like Qumran, it isn't big, but the guide was great and the history was palatable. This is the Jerusalem of the old testament. We toured presumably David's palace, walked down hill to see remains of buildings destroyed by the Babylonian invasion. The lighting was impressive and the special effects (3 d movie and lightshow projected onto the ruins) were breathtaking. The next day, I made my airport shuttle. Made it to Istanbul safely, caught up on news from the last week, talked to my family, and got to sleep in a big soft bed (the hostel was cold and small and hard). The next morning I checked out, barely made the free shuttle, and flew out back home. The flight back didn't seem as long as the flight out. I got to watch TinTin and Walle. The food was again excellent (chicken or meat?) LA was an easy transfer and then I was back! The gentleman in front of me at lax security was heartbroken about the liquids policy and that he had to remove his duty free jug of taquilla, but not before downing several shots worth and hooking up a few of the people behind him. It is very good to be back. I will see about adding some photos to these tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0825s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb