New Mexico


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Gallup
May 30th 2012
Published: May 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After leaving Sealy, I went to Austin and stayed at John and Beth's. They have a great place, large grounds and lots of outbuildings. They also have chickens and a small garden. Good news I got to see most of the relatives who live in Austin and attend Anna Mc graduation party. Missed Lalla and Matt's boys. Bad news I had a serious brake problem. John found me a mobile mechanic who worked most of Saturday and had me out on schedule on Sunday.

Crossed most of Northwest Texas to arrive at Palo Duro Canyon on Monday. I was impressed with the wildflowers along the way. We think of blue bonnets when we think of wildflowers in Texas but there are many others. Predominate colors when I came through were Red and Yellow although there were also purples and lavenders.

Palo Duro Canyon lived up to expectations. It is a magical place. The peace settles over you and stress drifts away. Early Tuesday morning Mini and I got up early. Wild turkeys were gobbling so we followed a game trail to a clearing where two groups of turkeys were roosting and calling to each other. They were just starting to leave their roost. I was thrilled to watch them. We then hiked to the top of a mini mountain in the bottom of the canyon where we had a good view of both sides and far down the canyon. Before the sun came up we heard three different groups of coyotes singing from different areas of the Canyon. We stayed until the sun came up over one side and slowly crawled down the other. By this time my stomach was telling me I had not had breakfast so we came down and went back to camp. We saw deer and later hiked along the little creek.

After saying goodbye to the canyon, we have left Texas and crossed New Mexico on I-40. I try to avoid freeways but was the only way to get where I wanted to go. It is a bad road, very rough and rutted by the truck traffic. Tomorrow I will head into the big Navaho reservation.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0175s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.3kb