Beep Beep


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Carlsbad
March 23rd 2010
Published: March 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Beep Beep - the Search for a Road Runner



Oh my, I thought yesterday was “El Despoblado.” I wasn’t prepared for today. We left Ft. Stockton traveling on Route 285 towards Carlsbad National Park. Real Desert. This is oil country for sure, well after well drilled into the shale rock which supports only short grass, yucca and greasewood. This is extreme landscape, but beautiful in its starkness.

I spent all day looking at the fence posts because I am on a mission to find a Road Runner. Paul says they are like the Jack-a-lope and don’t really exist. However, they are in my bird book and books don’t lie - do they? I will get a photo of a Road Runner.

Carlsbad Cavern’s were spooky. We hiked what is called the “Natural Entrance”, a 1.25 miles straight down into the bowels of the cave. There is not much light available there and it is all, of course, down hill and very steep. My knees are aching tonight. I will not complain however because they had an elevator to bring you back up. In the "olden days" there were stairs to climb up. If that were the case today, I'd still be down there.

Carlsbad is known for the phenomena bat flights out of the cave each evening at sunset. The bats are migratory and due to arrive at the end of this month. We just missed them!

Tomorrow we are off to Roswell - you know what that is famous for don’t you?



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb