This is the Day that the Lord has Made...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Hampshire
April 13th 2009
Published: April 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


…we will rejoice and be glad in it.

These words echoed out of the mouths of the children I have come to love so much over the past few months.

I watched the movie Homeward Bound last night- one of my favorite movies growing up. But then it sort of made me really miss home. You see, the two dogs in the movie are Shadow and Chance (also the name of my collies growing up) and the youngest boy is Jamie. At the beginning of the movie, the family is relocating from home to San Francisco for a few months and have to leave the animals at a friend’s ranch for that time. As they drive away, Shadow, the golden retriever is saying, “Wait. Where are you going? Why are you leaving us?” And I couldn’t help but imagine my golden retriever, Rosco Wilson, thinking the same thing every time I leave- especially as I look at the next few months, knowing I will be gone again. After that, I couldn’t get to sleep.

The plan for today was breakfast and devotions with the kids before leaving. I woke up about a half hour after I was supposed to be downstairs- to a text from Sarah. My alarm didn’t go off. Oops. I ate with the remaining children and packed as much as I could in the few minutes I had before devotions. They knew we were leaving. They knew today was the day. We did a few songs in Luganda, a few in English. I couldn’t help but thanking God for allowing me to be a part of this; a part of their lives, and they a part of mine. Behind me, I could hear Victor singing with his amazing low voice harmonizing with everyone else in a way that mzungus couldn’t even pretend to do. I was doing well to not cry- as long as I didn’t look at Kyle, knowing that we’d also be leaving him today after a year and a half of tour. Then Victor started us on another song: “this is the day that the Lord has made, we will rejoice and be glad in it.” I couldn’t help but feel that yes, this was the day made by the Lord, and it was also the day He made for us to leave the Choir behind to move forward in His next plan for us. Despite the fact that I didn’t really want to leave, I did my best to rejoice and be glad. My eyes filled up, so I looked at the wall, rather than the children, in order to compose myself. (I cheered up a few verses later when we were singing, “We are the Choir that the Lord has made…” and how my friends with British/Ugandan accents were singing “kwiah.”)

Then we were praying. There’s nothing like the sound of 26 voices praying at one time- fervent and faith-filled prayers for Uganda and their families and aunties and uncles and shows and thanking Him for everything from breath to shoes to dinner.

Auntie Sally, the woman who runs all the projects in Africa, gave a short talk about Easter and I listened as I looked out the window. It’s been snowing for a few days, so there’s an inch or two on the ground. The leafless trees are outlined with white on their dark branches against the white sky. That’swhat home looked like when I left. I came back to the present with Susan leaning against me, listening to Auntie Sally, and Barbara almost sitting on my lap and petting my foot.

It was time to go. We told the children we’d see them again sometime in Uganda- and I believe we will- and got 26 giant hugs. They squeezed us so tight! Barbara was the first to latch on to me and she wouldn’t let go. The other children were lined up behind her because they all wanted their “own” hug- not wanting to share. I told them to stay out of trouble and study hard and don’t grow too much (I’m sure most of the boys will be taller than me next time I see them). We had final farewells with the remaining chaperons: Sarah, Cowboy, Craig. Sharye, who promised to come visit when she gets of tour (she’s from Bellingham.) Victor, who gave me a great big hug and called me “Auntie Big Cheeks” in Luganda. He and I got a picture together being all smiley and Sharye said, “You guys are never that nice to each other in real life!” And final hugs from Alice as she started rehearsals. Of course there were promises to write and keep in touch and send pictures.

Then the crew, all four of us, when to Starbucks. We go there all the time, mind you, but these people I’m with took forever to decide what they want. We chatted a bit, enjoying our last time with Kyle, before taking him back to the hotel.

Sarah, Dana and I hit the road south- back to America, back to Easter time (who knew Atlantic time was even a thing?) The man at the boarder seemed thrilled to get three unemployed American girls out of his country (including one in the back who was barely conscious).

We had lunch and left Dana in Bangor, Maine, where she will fly out tomorrow. The remaining drive to New Hampshire was uneventful. Just some reading and sleeping and talking- the usual.

My bag ripped this morning while I was packing in a hurry, so we ran to Wal-mart and I picked up a new one tonight. Hoping to finish this book tomorrow too.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.308s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb