The Western Rectangle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Reno
April 4th 2011
Published: May 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Into Salt Lake CityInto Salt Lake CityInto Salt Lake City

Lots of salt marshes and desert.
This, my first attempt at blogging, is a work in progress. Uploading photos, sifting through archives in Adobe Photoshop, labeling pictures, and creating a story is time-intensive. Time has been the most costly resource for me of late. There is much that needs to be amended and edited in this blog. It's completion, if that comes to a fruition, may take months or longer. Before you explore this blog, let me warn you that I may still be considered crazy for making this and other trips. Still, you only live once, if you don't suffer some sort of reincarnation.

So let me explain the blog title. The "western rectangle" is a path from Reno to San Francisco to Los Angeles to Flagstaff to Reno that roughly, very roughly resembles a rectangle. Rather than simply going in circles, which I seem inadvertently to do all the time, I choose to travel in a rectangle on my "journey." Traveling isn't simply about making a vacation, although members of my own family still confuse "traveling" and "vacationing." Traveling or journeying is about discovery, not pursuing the ultimate in luxurious leisure. However, there is something to be said for that, also. My chronicle below is barely complete, and will be written in retrospect from my diary notes. During my actual journey, I neither had the time, tools, or leisure to successfully complete my blog for this "West Coast Journey." That "on the blog experience" will have to come on some future venture.

April 4th, 2011: I arrived in Reno at 6:00 pm, and missed my pick up ride at the airport. The plane arrived late and the luggage was delayed.


April 5th, 2011: After a full day of interviews, practice teachings, and meeting with staff, I am driven to my hotel, the Tropicana. I knew that I will not be offered the job when the headmaster wishes me well for my future. I will spend another night at the Tropicana, and tomorrow set off for Lake Tahoe and California.

April 6

April 7


April 8


April 9


April 10



April 11


April 12






April 13


Additional photos below
Photos: 108, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The Great Bridge.The Great Bridge.
The Great Bridge.

Once the longest suspension bridge in the world.
San Luis ReservoirSan Luis Reservoir
San Luis Reservoir

The Reservoir is just off of Rt. 5 on the way from Santa Cruz toward Rt. 140 to Merced, then Mariposa, then Mid Pines.
Mountains Beside Salt Lake CityMountains Beside Salt Lake City
Mountains Beside Salt Lake City

Salt Lake City Mountains in April
Alcatraz IslandAlcatraz Island
Alcatraz Island

Alcatraz from the IYH Fisherman's Wharf.


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb