Muffin Ridge


Advertisement
Published: May 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Muffin Ridge

One way

Tuesday 7th April 2009
I decided to do an evening hike with one of the meet up groups. This one was to Muffin Ridge. This is a ridge opposite Red Rock Canyon that I have often looked at as I drive to Red Rock and thought "I'll get up there too one day" and today was the day.

On top of the ridge is some rock formations that look like a rather ugly muffin - like I'd make with my culinary skills! We started the hike at the cowboy trails car park (where the horse trekking is) and weaved up the ridge. It also seems to be a regular hook-up/dogging site - see photos of beer bottles and knickers...

It was an easy hike but with surprisingly good views from the summit. It overlooked Red Rock from a perspective I have not seen before but also provides a really good view of the city. I sat and watched the shadows race across the landscape as the sun set behind the mountains behind me. And then a very strange thing happened - the shadow cast beyond the Strip, towards Lake Mead, but the Strip itself (and only the Strip) remained bathed in sunlight - everyone was amazed and could not explain it. I have since then seen the sun set from a different perspective and can see there is a low point in the ridge that allows the light to do that - but from Muffin Ridge it looks very surreal.

View a video from the top here





Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 81; dbt: 0.1213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb