Keystone Thrust and surrounding hills


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Red Rock Canyon
February 5th 2009
Published: March 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Keystone Thrust

and nearby hills.

StartStartStart

Funny how so many of these routes are defined as 'difficult' - very subjective thing, but says something about the average American's fitness maybe...?
Thursday 5th February 2009
I was feeling REALLY tired (see the eyes in photos/video) so decided to take a short-ish hike to Keystone Thrust. It is where older rock (volcanic grey stuff) got pushed up on top of much younger (red sand stone) rock during a geological 'thrust'...

I got there pretty quickly so decided to climb up the wash to the nearby hills with interesting looking (for me anyway) outcrops of rock. I found an interesting alternative to 'letter boxing' at one of them (see the video link below). Also turns out that volcanic rock is really sharp - cuts your hands up really easy!

After I peaked the second nearby hill I decided to 'cross country' it directly back to the car.

See the video clip here



Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Looking backLooking back
Looking back

at the Bridge Mountain area
Turtle & Thrust Turtle & Thrust
Turtle & Thrust

Turtlehead far left and the red patch nearby is the 'Thrust' area
Looking backLooking back
Looking back

at the Thrust area as I climbed up the wash
HmmmmHmmmm
Hmmmm

wonder why? Maybe a repair job of an old shelter?
Looking back some moreLooking back some more
Looking back some more

at the Thrust area as I climbed up the wash
Sponge tree...Sponge tree...
Sponge tree...

Not sure what this is called but I like the look of it
Looking backLooking back
Looking back

at the Thrust area as I climbed further up the wash
Interesting rocksInteresting rocks
Interesting rocks

at the edge of another hill I had climbed


Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 79; dbt: 0.12s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb