Day 1 - Springfield, OR - Minden, NV


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Minden
August 6th 2011
Published: August 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Day 1


We made it to Minden in only 7 hours thanks to leaving on Friday after work. We decided it would be easier to drive to Klamath Falls and take 3 hours of drive time off of our day today. It was a long day in the car and Mason decided to get carsick to boot! I am now sipping my Corona by the pool and relaxing. It is so nice and WARM out. Our hotel sits at the base of the Sierra Nevada mountain range and they are beautiful. Our drive was very uneventful except for the HUGE grouse we hit on the front windshield....I closed my eyes and so did Ted! We decided to take the back way to Minden which had us going through Alturas and then Cedarville to Gerlach and south to Carson City. My kids are now enjoying the pool so that means we are enjoying the pool. We are headed off soon for dinner at the steakhouse and then some gambling. The kids want to stay in the room and play Legos! Whoot Whoot! Tomorrow will be a more leisurely day and we are doing quite a bit of sightseeing. I have never been on this route so I am looking forward to exploring the new sights. Here are the hints we gave to the family this morning on where we were going:
Today's hints:

• I was founded in 1905
• I have had a post office since 1906
• My zip code is 89423
• I sit at 4,721’ in elevation
• I am in Douglas County
• I was named after a town of the same name in the German state of North Rhine Westphalia
• I am one of the top gliding spots on earth. Sailplanes have lifted off here and flown for up to 1,000 miles
• Just east of my location is one of the best thermal generators in the world
• US Highway 395 runs through me





Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



7th August 2011

What a Great Documentary!
Love it. Great job. You are genious with travel arrangements, et al. Hope you guys are having a blast!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb