Getting Ready to Roll


Advertisement
Published: May 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We are getting ready for another summer travel adventure. We are returning to Europe to bicycle in the Netherlands, Belgium and Denmark. We will be in Europe until July 20. We have rented an RV like we did before so our route and schedule are flexible. We will also spend 2 weeks in a houseboat on a canal in England and end our trip with a few days in London. At least this is the plan.

The original plan was to leave home on May 11 on a direct flight to London and then on to Amsterdam. David did leave on May 11 and after a few delays did get to Amsterdam about 6 hours late. He is shopping for bicycles, studying routes and getting the computer fixed. Worked fine when he left, but now won't boot.

I delayed my departure for a week to complete some LIFESTEPS work projects. I will leave May 18 if the volcano settles down, the flight crews don't go on strike and the creeks don't rise. As of this morning, flights into London are canceled due to the volcano in Iceland. Hopefully flights will be operating by tomorrow evening. However, I am expecting long delays at the airport due to these problems. British Airway crews are also planning walkouts from (you guessed it) May 18 through Mid-June. According to their website most flights will still be running and mine is listed as a go. So my big worry is the volcano. I am prepared for a long stretch in the airport with my Kindle. I have the complete works of Shakespeare and Jane Austen on it so I can do a lot of reading. I also have a cell phone that will work in Europe so I can communicate with David if I get rerouted somewhere else. Wish me luck. Hopefully my next entry with be from Amsterdam in just a day or two.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.311s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb