When I'm 64


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nebraska » Omaha
March 6th 2009
Published: March 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Gonya!Gonya!Gonya!

Crocodile!
Sound check was early today. But everything went well, and the school show went smoothly. Kyle let me borrow his nice camera and lens to take some production shots of the lighting, which I appreciated. I got quite trigger-happy and took 526 photos in an hour. It was one of those days where I wished I was a better photographer and took better pictures, but I’m not so sure I want to spend the money to buy a nice camera and lens. But I really like to HAVE good photos. Alas, this is why I have friends.

Some of them are pretty cool, but I’m not sure if I’ll get any up tonight. There’s a lot to wade through.

We had the afternoon off, so after lunch, Sarah and I ran a few errands and then I took a nap while she ran like 18 miles. One of the people from the office is here and wanted to meet with all of the adults, so my nap was cut shorter than I would have liked. It was a fine meeting- not a lot of things that apply to me, since I only ever do Journey of Hope and don’t
DeadDeadDead

Watch out for those leopards!
know any of the people she was talking about, but it was cool to hear more about what the organization is doing. A little bit of vision casting and things as well.

Oh, before my nap I called my uncle (Willow’s dad from the blog a few days ago) to wish him a happy birthday, which is where the title for today came from. We had a nice little chat about all sorts of things. I told him that I will soon hopefully be getting my 50 states in, and he said I was quite young to achieve a feat so great. He then suggested that I should now try for something new- go spelunking in all 50 states or something. I told him I don’t think that Iowa has anything tall enough to have a cave in it, but he said a parking garage would do.

Back to the venue for dinner (good thing it’s only one block away.) My dimmer check went well and Kyle and I had a nice chat. As I was setting my preshow cue, I found out that I randomly didn’t have control over anything! Collie and I brainstormed but couldn’t figure out why (everything was plugged in.) She got on the phone with someone and was trying to reset the computer piece that runs their dimmer system or something. Then we heard the fateful words: “It runs on Windows Vista.” Sarah and I just looked at each other, knowing this couldn’t be good. (And all of us Mac people had quite a laugh.) We got it figured out in time for the show to start, thank goodness. While she was on the phone, though, I was trying to come up with a plan b, but there wasn’t one coming to me. Because of how their system is set up, there’s no way to plug directly into the dimmers, so even if we had run 200 feet of cable, we couldn’t have had control. I wasn’t sure what to do, except maybe use work lights?

All of the show went well, except our video file shut down again. This was the third time, but at least we had a plan now. The first two times, I ran from where I was at front of house to backstage to fix things, but last time it happened, I showed Cowboy how to fix it, since he lives backstage anyway. He got us back online, but we’re still not sure why this is happening. One funny moment from the show tonight was during one of the last songs, all the kids went off to change, and Lubega came on with the right shirt, but forgot to change his pants. We were having a good chuckle about that. Oh, and I took more photos, about 588 more, bringing my total for today to over 1100. Yikes!

Tomorrow holds more grand adventures, I’m sure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.298s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb