"An inauspicious beginning!"


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nebraska » Lincoln
September 17th 2012
Published: September 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

PiezanosPiezanosPiezanos

Piezanos is the best pizza in Lincoln. This is a half-eaten slice of their Potato Slice Pizza. Sveta half ate it.
"An inauspicious beginning!" That's what football's Dan Dierdorf yells Martin Grammatica booted the opening kick-off out of bounds. Today I ate a Piezano's personal pizza and afterwards spent more time in the bathroom than was absolutely necessary. The thing is, I was on the clock -- I had to get to the Omaha airport so I could catch a plane to Fargo. There my dad (of the Tour de Dad) would be waiting. I would have deplaned at 12:40 AM, September 17, but I didn't because I missed my flight. So, "An inauspicious beginning!"

I will try again tomorrow.

I know that Montana is full of deadly predators: cougars, grizzly bears, and tractor trailers. I have faith that the Tour De Dad will be an epic journey and that the two lycra-girt protagonists will overcome all manner of adversity, from the unimaginable chafing that comes with cross continental biking to raging grizzlys, and will, probably in Iowa, discover that the journey is more than the destination, et cetera. What I doubt is myself. Can I, the driver, hold up my own end of the bargain? I must be, as Dierdorf might say, "on the ball" if I am to be of to help out these heroes as they tempt the infinite. I can't allow the tractor trailors to start on the 40 yard line, and I can't miss my flight.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb