Day 51 - Banff - Glacier National Park


Advertisement
Published: October 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Sadly we left Banff behind to head to our next destination. Somehow I felt that I would return to that wonderful town and take it all in again. Til then, we headed onto Glacier National Park, which meant we were back in the United States of America.
The time we spent in Canada flew by, like some of this Tour, but I was continuing to have the time of my live.

On the way to Glacier, having just crossed the border, we stopped off for lunch and a quick walk around Head-Smashed-in buffalo jump. Well I say walk around, because that’s what the others did. I on the other hand, hung around outside the visitors centre and called home.
Speaking to mum, she told me all about Grace and the labour, and how small and beautiful she already was. She also told me how well Lewis has taken to her already.
Mum also said how much she was missing me, and wanted me to come home, but still wanted me to enjoy the Tour.
Mum also reckoned that I was now torn between not wanting the Tour to end and coming home to see Grace. You know what? She was right.
Back to the buffalo jump, where the others were on their way back from the site of the jump. The story behind the place was that during the 1800’s, a young brave wanted to witness the plunge of the buffalo as his people drove them to their deaths over the cliffs. The young brave stood under the shelter of a ledge, he witnessed the mighty beats fall past him. Unusually the hunt was good that day, so as the bodies mounted up, he became trapped between the animals and the cliff.
When his people came to do the butchering, they discovered the boy with his skull crushed in by the weight of the buffalo carcasses.

From what I saw of the cliffs and what the others said, I didn’t miss much on the site, so wasn’t too disappointed. Having just spoken to home, I was in a really good mood as we rolled on to the next campsite – a KOA!
This site was in the heart of Glacier, on an open space land in a valley, with tall hills in the distance in front and behind us. Our site was in the middle of a small wooded area of the KOA, having passed the office, shop, shower block, laundry and swimming pool.

As we crawled round the bend into our site, we unloaded the trailer and set up our tents, though I decided to sleep out under the trees. Pretty soon, most of us headed to the pool to cool off whilst still being bathed in warm sunshine uninterrupted by clouds in the sky.
After a quick dip and sitting on the edge, I headed off to have a shower before giving Madagascar a miss and headed to bed in preparation for tomorrow, but not before Sarah and Jess accidently spilt champagne pretty much all over the van, and Todd’s pile of clothes, just after the van had been thoroughly cleaned out. Fortunately Todd had gone for a shower whilst this happened and the girls were able to clear it all up before he returned.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb