Project 2010 Olympics: The Beginning!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Butte
January 31st 2010
Published: January 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

In T-minus ten days, I will be packing up my skis, clothes, sleeping bag, gas tank, cameras, video cameras, Olympic tickets and heading… wait, did I say that right? Yes, Olympic tickets! After a bunch of research, double checking things, attempts at preparations, it’s official, “I’m going to the 2010 Vancouver Olympic Games.” Let me fill you all in on how this incredible opportunity came to be an what my plans are for the next, roughly, 3 weeks.

Rewind: Yeoju, South Korea.



In my time teaching in South Korea last school year, I had the wonderful opportunity to meet some amazing people from all over the world. One of those people was Louis. When we met, he mentioned he was from Vancouver. The first thing I thought of when I heard Vancouver, was ‘Olympics.’ In passing we’d exchange things like, ‘man, it’d be cool to come check out the Olympics next year,’ and, ‘totally, Jon, I’ve got plenty of room.’

Fast forward: Butte, Montana



One afternoon, about 3 months ago, maybe more out of curiosity, I emailed Louis to see if all that room he mentioned months ago for the Olympics was still available. The exchange went something like this…

“Louis- How’s the snow??? Quick Question… What are the chances I could crash on your floor for a few days over the Olympics? 1 in 10, 1 in 1,000,000???”

“Wick- 1 in 1.”


It turns out that Louis is working at a restaurant in the village of Whistler, living there with a few roommates, and skiing whenever possible. Conclusion: I’m in- now get trip planning!

Rewind: Manitowoc, Wisconsin (circa: 1988)



My bedroom growing up, was a tiny little room used as my brothers’ and my baby room. One of my earliest memories of this room takes place when I was roughly 7 years old. I took the small (like 10 inch) t.v. from the kitchen up to my bedroom along with the rabbit ears that received the channels. It seems like hours that I toiled with those things, James running down to the kitchen to grab more aluminum foil, until the snow slowly started morphing into bodies. The only channel we could get figured out enough to watch through the blizzard of poor reception, happened to be a cross country event happening at the ’88 Calgary Olympics.

When you’re 7 and 10 year old, just having a television in your room is cool (at that time), but having a tv that you could actually (sort of) watch, was possibly the coolest thing that ever happened to us. I remember he and I laying on my bed all night watching this competition we barely recognized, on a tv we could barely see, listening to sounds we could barely decipher… and it was Awesome!

Fast Forward: Cedar Falls, Iowa (circa: 2002)



In 2002, I was a Junior at the University of Northern Iowa. It’s winter, and the Olympics have taken over the TV. even more so because there are in Salt Lake City, Utah. At this time, I’m old enough to know what’s going on, realize the global stage the Olympics are, understand some of the symbolism the games represent. When ever I see the five rings my memory shoots back to that night in my bedroom.

The Olympics are amazing. I’m partial to the winter games, but I talk of the Olympics in general terms. Maybe it’s my perpetual optimism bubbling up, but they are pretty darn cool. This year in Vancouver, over 5,500 people will compete, from over 80 countries. That is a feat in itself, but then you sprinkle in the fact they each athlete shoulders the responsibility of representing their entire country, their colors, their pride, and work ethics on the largest stage in the world, and you have a pretty amazing event. I do recognize an undertaking of this scale has its issues, I will touch on them another time, but we should all take a second to realize the Olympics bring together people from every corner of the globe, every walk of life, every social strata, every language spoken, every financial background all while testing your limits through physical competition.

I’ve always kept in mind a cool idea my dad said growing up, he told me that it would be great to see the highest level of competition of every sport- regardless if you like it or not. The Superbowl, a World Series game, Stanley Cup game, PGA Championship, Wimbledon, Nascar, Chess, Under Water Basket Weaving…any thing. Included in this list- the Olympics. A dream of mine, attending the games, is about to come true.

Fast Forward: Butte, Montana (circa: now)



What an incredible opportunity for me to attend such an amazing event. I’m sure it won’t sink in until I’m actually there, but for now… I need to get things figured out.

I will be heading out of Butte, driving the 12 hours to Vancouver, and then to Whistler on February 10, and staying there through the 18th. That was the most important part, just figuring out when to go.

Now that I got that taken care of, I need to start figuring out what I can do while I’m there. I want to go to an event- it doesn’t matter, really, but I can’t be so close to the Olympics, and not even go to any part of them, even with all the other cool things going on. I wanted to arrive in Whistler with at least one ticket in hand to guarantee at least one event to watch. What I settled on, was the Ladies Gold Medal Round of the Super Combined (one run of downhill- a speed skiing event, and one run of slalom- a technical skiing even) skiing competition taking place on Sunday, February 14th. Happy V-Day to me!

Recently, I have been doing a bit of freelance travel writing, getting some articles published, eventually leading to an editor position at a travel website. When I shared my plans with the others, they encouraged me to apply for some kind of media accredidation, giving me more access to the inner workings of the Olympics. I did, and with recommendations from my coworkers at the website, I was granted a limited access Press Pass. Since I am a teacher, not a member of the recognized media, having a press pass will, hopefully (we’ll see how “limited” it is) open up a complete other world to me; an incredible learning experience and fun to be a part of. Oh Yeah!

Once I had tickets and a press pass, I started thinking. This is all cool and great, but I remember teaching in 2006 Olympics in Italy, and doing a thematic unit surrounding them. I asked myself, “ Self… how can I make this experience more beneficial and useful?” My conclusion:

Project Olympics

I will become an Olympic correspondence for schools all across America and Canada. If you are reading this, you most likely have already gotten this information from myself or a friend- that’s great! Here’s my plan:

Everyday, sometimes more if time will allow, I will be writing, videoing, and photographing my experience, and posting everything here. This, I hope, will provide a first hand account of the Olympics, bringing them down to a more personal level, for friends, students, and teachers, who were in the same place I was a few years ago.

I have already begun spreading the word, and we are getting a good following and awesome feedback. Please feel free to pass these bits of info on to anyone that may find them interesting or useful. Work of mouth is an awesome thing. Thanks!

Teachers and School staff (and anyone for that matter) can read and subscribe this blog I’m writing specifically for schools and students: Wick2010Olympics . There is a blue rectangle with the word “SUBSCRIBE” in it. Click on that, submit your email, and voila! You will get email notifications every time I post something new.

I have also set up a project specific email students/teachers/schoolstaff can contact me with anything and that is wick2010olympics@hotmail.com .


Thanks so much for following me and participating in this project! I hope it brings your studies of the Olympics into your classroom in a more personal and benefitial way. I encourage you to contact me at the email listed above with any questions, concerns, comments (there is a comment section youu can submit comments at the end of every post, as well), or suggestions. I am excited for this and look forward to working with you!

Time to start getting packed! Wish me luck!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



31st January 2010

Cool! I'm a 5th grade teacher, and will pass this link on to my students tomorrow. I can already hear them: "AWESOME!" Thank you!

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0643s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb