Winter Carnival - Day 2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Saint Paul
February 4th 2012
Published: February 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

February 4 – Saturday – morning

Drinking my coffee and thinking things over in St Paul, Minnesota. I flew 1500 miles for this. The Ice Sculptures are melting. I've seen more snow in Texas in February before....sigh. Guess I should have just went to Colorado again. I heard they had a little snow there. I guess I will change my focus on this trip from attending the Winter Carnival to touring St Paul and Minneapolis. Quite frankly I’ve seen more going on at County Fairs….no wonder Ron is lonesome.

They only had one Snow sculpture and there was a sign next to it thanking some organization for hauling in the snow for it….sad.

I guess I will finish getting dressed and go down to the 10th floor for the continental breakfast, then go to The Mall of America while it is still cold and foggy this morning. I will check out Rice Park again this afternoon and watch the torchlight parade and fireworks this evening.

Saturday evening - Saturday was an exhausting but good day. After a Continental breakfast on the 10th floor I went to the top of a parking garage nearby to check out the view for the fireworks tonight. It looked good for viewing the event but I felt uncomfortable about maybe “trespassing” if I went there tonight since I didn’t have a car parked there. So I decided I would just watch it from the riverbank.

I walked down along the river and then over to Rice Park and checked out things there again. They had some pretty good bands there today and other entertainment. It was a really beautiful day but very cold. I felt sympathy for the women who were dancing in some not very much of a costume. I don’t care what they say…..women are much tougher than men. Those women deserve medals for performing in those outfits in the cold. They sure were beautiful though.

After listening to the bands a bit and just enjoying the beautiful but cold day I caught the #54 Lmt. bus out to the airport and did some homework on finding my way from the bus terminal at the airport to the ticketing counter there. That way I won’t have to be figuring things out on the run there on Wednesday when I leave.

On the way to the airport I passed a huge military cemetery. It stretched as far as the eye could see. Seemingly endless rows of simple grave site markers. I am always deeply impressed every time I see one of these cemeteries. So many men have been killed in the various wars this country has been involved in. Those men wanted to live as much as I did when I was drafted. And they had people who cared about them as well who no doubt felt the loss deeply.

After making a dry run from the bus terminal to the ticket counter in the airport I then caught the Hiawatha Light Rail Line from the airport to the Mall of America. It was very crowded and although I had intended to have a look around and eat I decided I would check it out on Monday or Tuesday instead when the kids were in school. It had an enclosed amusement park which was impressive as well.

I got back on the Hiawatha Line again and took it into Minneapolis. I was headed to Nicolette Mall which was supposed to be a street with lots of shops and restaurants. I thought I might eat there. I walked up the street till I was half frozen and didn’t see any restaurants….maybe they were in the buildings. So I said heck with it and found the bus stop for the #94 bus on 6th street back to Saint Paul and took it using my transfer from the train.

When I got back to St Paul I ate at the Great Waters Brewing Company restaurant. I had a Vinagerette salad and a bowl of Chili, with a Pale Ale. Then for dessert a brownie with ice cream. It ran me about $31 with tip. So now on a full stomach I then went down to the Mississippi River for the fireworks. Fortunately for me they had been delayed and I got there in time for an impressive fireworks display. After the fireworks I walked back to the hotel and slept very well for the night. It had been a good day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb