Fisheye view of my trip so far


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Orr
August 24th 2011
Published: August 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Old Texaco StationOld Texaco StationOld Texaco Station

This was taken in Lynchburg, TN. The old station has been turned into a visitor's center. I will stop at every opportunity for an old station (especially Texaco), old barn, country church, or old vehicle 'rusting in peace'.
Believe it or not, I've actually been 'cooling my jets' since I arrived in Orr yesterday. I haven't left the campground, although I'm planning a trip 'into town' (about 7 miles) in a bit to check out the area.

Other than being a very windy day, it's a nice summer day here. Some clouds are rolling in, but it's low humidity and 70 degrees. I have windows and the door open in the RV and the AC is off. Hope I can bring some of this weather home with me!

I spent the morning reviewing images I've taken with my newest lens - a fisheye - during the trip. I did some basic editing. A few are HDR merge of 3 images to get the complete range of light. All were taken with my Canon camera and the 8-15mm lens.

It's quite a different perspective and not a lens I can use in every situation, but it gives a unique view. I've discovered I have to be careful if I'm handholding and moving closer to get the foreground very close. I've almost run into buildings or objects as I get in close (which is what you have to
Corvette MuseumCorvette MuseumCorvette Museum

a view inside the Corvette Museum in Bowling Green.
do with this type lens).

Hope you enjoy this brief recap of my stops so far.

Bruce


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Standard StationStandard Station
Standard Station

You saw an iPhone version of this station from Bowling Green in an earlier post.
P-51P-51
P-51

In the EAA museum.
ChurchChurch
Church

Frank Lloyd Wright designed and built this church in Madison.
WI CapitalWI Capital
WI Capital

A view looking straight up at the WI Capital rotunda. this makes me think I'm looking through a kaleidoscope.
Bridge within a bridgeBridge within a bridge
Bridge within a bridge

There were several of these sculptures of the bridge in Duluth. I liked the framing of the real bridge inside the sculpture. And with the fisheye, you often get a sunburst in the image.
Cargo ShipCargo Ship
Cargo Ship

Entering the harbor. Same lens but at 15 mm. I'm amazed at how little distortion there is at 15mm.
ship under bridgeship under bridge
ship under bridge

After taking the 'zoomed in' 15 mm version, I went to 8mm to capture this image.


Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 77; dbt: 0.0976s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb