homesweethome


Advertisement
Published: July 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

old.friendsold.friendsold.friends

Eric from Study Abroad London
Well I thought I would write to update everyone on my past trip to the states and the future plans I’ve decided since visiting.

Everyone was telling me that I would miss Korea once I left and that I would want to come back sooner rather than later. So I guess when my feelings about my trip were completely different from those that have been living in Korea, I knew it was time to go.

I guess I’ll start off by talking about my trip. It was long trip home. I never realized how much it stinks to sit in the middle of the row when flying 14 hours. Nonetheless after traveling back in time and arriving in Minneapolis, I felt like I was finally home. That night, I met some friends for dinner and drinks. It was so nice to see everyone and catch up. I feel like so much has changed since leaving months ago but yet people and friendships still remain the same. Thanks for coming out! It was so good to see you guys.

After dinner and drinks I went to the airport to pick up Cardinal. After about seven months of talking over
mike.chen.mollymike.chen.mollymike.chen.molly

they are married!
the phone it was amazing to see him again. Over the years he has become such an important person in my life. He is the type of person that makes you rethink situations to look at the brighter side of things. He hasn’t changed who I am but rather makes me see my strengths and weaknesses and helps me to utilize them to the best of my abilities.

After a few days in the Twin Cities I headed down to Kansas City to see my parents. They are opening up a restaurant and I tried to sync my visit with the opening, but after booking my ticket they realized they had a lot more to do then they planned. Nevertheless it was awesome to see what they have been doing. The restaurant looks amazing and it was so good to have some home cooking while I was there.

While I was in Kansas City, Amanda and her boyfriend came down to visit. It was so great having them come over. We checked out the new KC Power and Light District which has potential aside from the lack of cool people. It was a square of bars/restaurants accessible from
chitra.and.mechitra.and.mechitra.and.me

soo good to see you!
the street and then all connected in the back by a courtyard and stage.

My last night in Kansas City, my sister decided to surprise me with my friends at my parent’s restaurant. I had no idea. It was amazing seeing the old gang together again, to see how much we’ve grown and to see where life has taken us.

What an amazing trip. I did not want to leave. So…the next few months, what is to come?

Here’s the plan. I’m done teaching at the end of August. Travel to India and maybe a few other countries in September. Then head home to Kansas City in October. Help out at the restaurant for a few months while (hopefully) applying to grad school. Then move to Chicago by the New Year. Now if only I could keep a plan. Life has been so good lately. I hope everyone is doing well. I miss you all and wish I could have spent more time with you all while I was home. But I’ll be back sooner this time!

Peace and Love



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

pablo.me.ericapablo.me.erica
pablo.me.erica

another gets married
kalpesh.and.mekalpesh.and.me
kalpesh.and.me

clearly kj needs to work on getting the korean peace sign inside the picture. it takes practice.
me.and.cardinalme.and.cardinal
me.and.cardinal

at the mirror maze. it was so trippy.
roomiesroomies
roomies

my roomie from freshman year alice. i miss you!!!
me.and.my.manme.and.my.man
me.and.my.man

hehehe...
hangoverhangover
hangover

so funny
amanda.and.daudaamanda.and.dauda
amanda.and.dauda

thanks for letting us crash and coming to visit@
sharonsharon
sharon

such a weirdo
the monkeythe monkey
the monkey

haha...this is for you baby.


21st July 2009

Miss you!
I didn't know you came back to the U.S! When you come back next, give me a call (I still have the same number if you still have it). It's so nice to see pictures of everyone. I would love to see you!
4th August 2009

excellent stuff!
yet again your spontaneity amazes me! travel to a country here and there, move back home, move to a new city, and apply to grad school. sounds like you got it figured out! I might just be joining you in Chicago in the new year! will keep you posted! Also, I'm a few Susan msgs behind, I realize from looking at the pics on this blog entry! :P

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb