Minneapolis, Minnesota


Advertisement
Published: July 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Day 8 (1)Day 8 (1)Day 8 (1)

This cat is so awesome
I stayed with an older couple in Dolton, South Dakota, and had a great time with them. I didn’t arrive until later in the evening, so we only had a couple hours to hang out. It was a rural farm house, and it was just so peaceful out there. I got up fairly early the next morning to get a head start on the day.

One thing that drives me nuts is driving around in big cities. And it makes it especially worse when I am on a motorcycle, because sometimes I feel like everyone on the road is trying to kill me. I know they don’t mean to, but often times they just don’t see motorcycles. But I made it to Randy’s place safe and sound. He introduced me to some of his friends, and we went to hang out with a couple of them for the evening. We talked guns and flashlights for quite some time, and it was just nice to relax. I grabbed the couch for the night, and the cat in the house joined me too. This is one of the coolest cats you will ever meet. In fact he is sleeping right by my
Day 8 (2)Day 8 (2)Day 8 (2)

Another one of the champ
side as I am typing this. He likes to play, and when he bites it is never enough to make you bleed. This cat knows when to get crazy, and when to play nice with you. Oh and did I mention I LOVE cats?

I have learned that while riding on hot days, the underarmour shorts and shirts are probably the best thing out there. It wicks away moisture pretty well, and leaves me feeling as cool as I can in the extreme heat. Cotton tends to leave me chafed, and I feel it even a couple days after riding. I’m sure you were just dying to know that, but I’m just throwing it out there and I won’t go into detail.

Another thing I have learned is it can be difficult to stay hydrated while riding in the extreme heat. At times I feel sluggish and drowsy, and it has always been caused by not being hydrated. Sometimes I go through nearly a gallon of Gatorade in a hot day of riding. So about every 50 miles or so I stop for a hydration and stretch break.

Today I got a tour of the place where my brother works, and that place is pretty amazing! It is so amazing I might even consider doing an internship there next year. It might be hard to pass up the salary of a starting engineer, so we’ll see what I decide to do. I would probably only do it if I was able to have my brother as a mentor, because we seem to work really well together. I think we share the same work ethic and practices, and I always have good memories of working together on projects. Today I got to experience Randy running some tests on a shaker table; I have to say that was pretty cool. They were shaking a switch they use on ships, which doesn’t sound like much to most people, but I thought it was cool.

Randy will be home any minute, so I am going to end this here. I think we might just hang out and shoot the breeze tonight, or maybe go down to the shooting range to hang out for a while.

I have appreciated all the messages and comments from the people reading this travel blog. And thanks again to everyone supporting me on this journey.


Advertisement



19th July 2008

blog writings
Mike After being too busy driving tractor for 4 days I finally caught up on all your travels. Very interesting writings and pictures. I especially like the self-photo cruising at 60 mph. Looking at the Mt. Rushmore photos I noticed some of those guys had pretty big noses. (Maybe they are related to the Hershbergers!!) Hope your trip continues to go well and I pray for your safety every day as I cruise thru the alfalfa field in the john deere at 5.3 mph. Take care Dad

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb