The time is coming..2 weeks


Advertisement
Published: July 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Study Abroad Preparation



2 weeks to go and I am very anxious at this time. It is a critical time to limit my activities and spend as little money as possible because I will be going out everyday when I arrive for sure. I have no money of my own right now and I am worried about my Wells Fargo loan. The University of Minnesota is not verifying my fall semester enrollment because it is too early. I have told them I need this now but they do not think it important that I leave in two weeks and start school in August. What am I to do if they want to hold out just because its not September? Why do people not use logic any more? I'll be o.k. That's not to get me down.

I have a long flight ahead of me on July 22, 2008. I leave MKE at 5:50pm to arrive at LAX by 9:15pm. At LAX I will meet many study abroad students as my group flight leaves out at 11:20pm. As I fly west for 14hrs a day passes by and I will arrive July 24th in Brisbane at 6:05am. Switch planes and fly North to Cairns, a tropical city on the northern coast of Australia. My AustraLearn program has a 3 day orientation in Cairns which I am excited to expereince. I know we visit a wildlife park to see lots of animals like koalas, snakes and kangaroos. One of the most exciting days I think will be snorkling the Great Barrier Reef. If I get brave enough I may certify to dive, but I am a little scared of getting close and personal with some of the marine life. However, anything can happen. Afterall Steve Erwin died snorkling the GBR because a Manta Ray stung his heart.

Sydney has a steady year round temperature of 20-27degrees celcius (68-80F). My late July arrival will be starting spring. Australia has the number one rate of any country for skin cancer because of the intensity of the sun and close to year round sunshine. I have been building my tan for a couple months and quite intensly this summer to ensure I enjoy the sun and not the aloe. Starting late July through November it is whale watching season. There are boat trips right out of Sydney, but also some of the best by the must see, Fraser Island. I will definitely take a voyage to see the whals as all have guaranteed sightings and with luck, I may be able to see the world's only albino humback whale, Migaloo.

Maquarie University's official start date is unknown to me right now. I may have seen mid to late August which means I have some time from when I arrive until school starts. I imagine this will be time that I use to interview and set up my internship. My study abroad program is a study and internship combo. I am not guaranteed an internship but am given assistance to help find one in an area that I want. I will be looking for an internship with the Sydney tourism board, a retail design center, special events company, an advertising firm, or an assistant at a magazine. Conveniently, the Australian student visa automatically includes a work permit. Lucky me, thats new since April. I will be attending Maquarie University, Australia's innovative U. It is in North Ryde, a suburb of Sydney. I will be living in Maquarie University Village apartments. They look extremely livable and are close to campus. http://www.macquarieuv.com.au/ I will be living in a 5 bedroom apartment. All private rooms and bathrooms.

Although the Australian drinking age is 18, I will be having my 21st (Aug 14) in Australia. Of coure I am going to celebrate this. What better place to celebrate than in Sydney. F'ing awesome.

What you can expect to read- I may participate in a University research study about study abroad which will require me to journal every week. That may be benificial, as the more often I write, the shorter each blog should be. I'm much rather a visual person so expect to see lots of pictures and even videos to browse though.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.082s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb