Minnesota - Jim Colyer


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Minneapolis
January 5th 2008
Published: January 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

In March, 1993, I visited Michael in Red Wing, Minnesota, where he and Karen were living. It was my first time in Minnesota and Wisconsin. Of course, my purpose was to spend time with my son, not to grind out a paper. In Red Wing, we bowled, saw a movie and went down to the Mississippi River. I flew down to Las Vegas.

I returned to Minnesota in August, 1994. Michael and I saw the New York Yankees play the Minnesota Twins at the Metrodome in Minneapolis. We moved from the third baseline to behind home plate around to center field. It was blue seats and green artificial turf. The Twins won. We saw Yankees Don Mattingly, Wade Boggs, Paul O'Neill and Jim Leyritz. I bought Michael a Yankees cap.

In Red Wing, we climbed Barn Bluff to looked down on the town. Red Wing was celebrating River City Days.

There is a Scandinavian, Viking influence out through here because it is where the Swedish emigrants ended up in the 1850s. The farms are immaculate.

Michael showed me his school, Jefferson Elementary.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1004.2kb