Xela and Jade


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Duluth
March 28th 2013
Published: March 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Not too much new to report, but I'd like to get in the habit of writing on the blog for the future. I was able to speak with a former professor of mine who travels relatively frequently to Guatemala and, lucky me, she actually does a lot of work right in Xela (the nickname of Quetzaltenango)! I showed her the apartment Roger and I are looking at she told me it's a 5 minute walk from the fresh fruit market and also near an amazing pizza place. She also said there's some really fabulous cafes and book stores right around the area so I'm sure I'll be in heaven 😊 Via FB my aunt asked about Jade (she's a crazy dog lady like me!) so I figured I'd address that right now too. We found out that only two airlines (who travel internationally) would allow "snub nose" dogs to travel with them (snub nose dogs include boxers, pugs, bull-dogs,etc.). And of those 2, neither would work with Jade because of her age and her anxiety (the chances of Jade dying mid-air/mid-flight are too great). We researched a million different options but nothing really seemed feasible. It was a crazy hard decision and still not easy for me to accept, but unfortunately Jade will not be traveling with us. I am lucky enough to have some really amazing family and my wonderful brother, Ron, whom Jade already trusts, knows, and loves, has agreed to dog-sit for a year. He will also computer-sit my year-old Mac desktop ON THE CONDITION that I get weekly FaceTime dates with Jadey. (And I'm very serious about that, Ron--in case you're reading this). I also have an amazing sister who will be fishy-sitting / adopting my 2 beta fish, Henry and Oliver. It turns out, being a crazy animal lover/owner, doesn't bode to well with also wanting to travel everywhere lightly. So while I'm pretty upset and sad I won't have my four-legged shadow on my adventures with me, I do know it will be more healthy and less stressful for her to remain in Duluth. Plus my brother's pretty active so hopefully she can work off a few of the rolls she's been gaining the past few... years. Well, that's all for now. I'll try to write on a regular basis, but I don't imagine much excitement really until September 😊



Besos -- Niki & Roger

Advertisement



29th March 2013

live life with no regrets
someone awesome told me that...
8th November 2013

Hope Ron is keeping his promise
You should have asked him to sign a contract saying you could see Jadey. Ha ha

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.116s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb