Split Rock Lighthouse


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Duluth
June 20th 2007
Published: June 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Split Rock LighthouseSplit Rock LighthouseSplit Rock Lighthouse

Here's one view of the lighthouse
I had a laid back day and did a little sightseeing.

I first went down to the harbor and saw a cargo ship being loaded. While driving through town, a deer came walking around the corner of the street on the sidewalk. Of course my camera was in the back of the Jeep! I turned around and captured her but not with houses in the background.

I then drove up to Gooseberry Falls (where we are going for sunrise tomorrow along the lake and then the falls later) and to Split Rock Lighthouse - probably the most photographed location on the North Shore.

The beginning of the workshop was good, but a 4:15 departure tomorrow for sunrise will be early so I’m going to upload this and call it a night.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Split Rock Lighthouse from the shorelineSplit Rock Lighthouse from the shoreline
Split Rock Lighthouse from the shoreline

Here's another view from the shoreline of Lake Superior. They have 171 steps down to the lake that follow the old steps and tram which was used during the original construction.
Gooseberry FallsGooseberry Falls
Gooseberry Falls

I was surprised when I first saw the falls. The water is brown where I'm accustomed to crystal clear in the mountains of NC. I learned tonight the coloration is due to two things. One is the tannic acid in the water which makes it rusty looking. The other reason is with all the rain they've had around here the high water level is churning up sediment.


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb