Hello from Minnesota


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Duluth
June 20th 2007
Published: June 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Lake SuperiorLake SuperiorLake Superior

Here's a view of Lake Superior taken from the campground in Two Harbors, MN.
Hello from the North Shore of Lake Superior.

What a glorious day today. After the rain on Monday, Tuesday dawned sunny and 60 degrees. There wasn’t a cloud in the sky as we departed Story City, IA.

The countryside is absolutely beautiful. The crystal blue sky contrasted with the dark rich green of corn as far as the eyes could see. Dotted along the corn, soybeans, and wheat fields were farmhouses and barns decked out in their red and white splendor. Silos would appear on the horizon as silent sentinels standing watch. I also passed by 3 or 4 wind farms.

As we headed north the winds picked up considerably. The sky remained a rich blue with occasional streaks of icy cirrus clouds and later puffy cotton like clouds rolled by. The wind really rocked the RV so we went at a slower pace.

About 50 miles south of Duluth, I headed off the super slab (better know as I-35) to travel along one of Minnesota’s Scenic Byways. It was the Veterans Evergreen Memorial and ran along MN 23 from Askov to Duluth. What a beautiful relaxing drive. Got back on I-35 for the last few
land of 10,000 lakesland of 10,000 lakesland of 10,000 lakes

This is a view from the Scenic Byway just south of Duluth. Everywhere you look you see a lake!
miles of it and suddenly Lake Superior dramatically appeared off the starboard side. WOW!!! It reminded me of the first time I saw the Atlantic Ocean.

But Lake Superior is a dark blue body of water much different than the blue gray of the Atlantic Ocean along the southeast coastline.

The campground is city run and they just got wireless up and running last week. Unfortunately, they don’t have a repeater to distribute the signal throughout the entire campground. I’m in the section it doesn’t reach so I’m writing this and will then drive the Jeep and park by the office to upload the journal.

That said, given the full days of my photo workshop ahead, I may not get an entry uploaded every day.

Can’t wait to explore this wonderful part of our great nation. That’s all for now.

Wednesday morning now. I was unable to connect to my blog to upload last night so the entry is going in today. A cool 47 to start off the morning, but it’s beautiful and I’m looking forward to exploring before the workshop starts this evening.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

view from campsiteview from campsite
view from campsite

They take reservations a season (year) in advance so I don't have a site along the lake. But this is the view I have from the front of my campsite.
Iowa farmIowa farm
Iowa farm

One of the many Iowa farms seen along I-35 during the drive through the state.
Wind FarmWind Farm
Wind Farm

There were several wind farms in Iowa.
Standing GuardStanding Guard
Standing Guard

Silos appear as you drive through the midwest.


Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0997s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb