65 Mile Loop


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » UP
December 10th 2009
Published: December 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

65 Mile Loop


It's been snowing like crazy the past day and a half. As of this morning, I estimate we've gotten 20 inches of snow and it's still snowing. One of the girls here at the Parkview said they are supposed to get over 3 feet by Saturday. It's deep and beautiful. Still very few snowmobilers so I was breaking trail through about 2-1/2 feet of snow in a lot of places.

My passenger side windshield wiper quit working, so I started out my day driving 23 miles up to Houghton and got it fixed at Keweenaw Automotive. So, after that little diversion, I started riding around 1:00 PM again. With all the new snow, I headed south and made a familiar loop for me. I rode 16 miles down to Mass City and gassed up there. I then headed 10 miles southeast to the Rousseau Bar, one of my favorites. The Rousseau Bar is in the middle of the woods and has been there since the 1920's. To say it's rustic is an understatement. The floor is so uneven, you have to go uphill then downhill to get to the restroom. Bob, the owner was there and Gaylynn was tending bar. Gaylynn always has a few jokes to tell and she had a couple new ones yesterday.

After Rousseau, I rode untracked forest roads for about 20 miles to the Alston Bar in Alston, also known as The Church in the Valley. Don't ask me why, but all the local people call it that. It's owned by Red and Loretta, a couple in their 70's. I just like to go there to see how they're doing. Red had surgery recently, and they said he's doing better.

The snow was so deep in the forest roads, that I slid into the ditch a couple times and almost got stuck. Thankfully I was able to power it back toward the middle of the road. I sure don't want to get stuck by myself. It's a lot of work to get out of a ditch by yourself. I carry a shovel on the sled and I'm happy I didn't need to use it.

I finished up my ride by riding county roads back to Krupp's.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Rousseau BarRousseau Bar
Rousseau Bar

On a previous trip


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb