How It All Began...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Grand Rapids
April 25th 2012
Published: April 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Although I am not planning on actually traveling until 2013, a trip like mine needs a lot of thought and preparation, especially if I am planning on going by myself.

This is a general introduction for what I am planning on doing, and why.

Over the past few years, there have been a lot of changes in my life, and I have grown immensely as an individual, and have figured out what a few of my passions in life are. One of these passions is traveling.

In April of 2009, I traveled to Unguturu, India and volunteered in a children's home, until the end of July. Although my trip was cut short (I was supposed to be there for a year), I can not begin to list all of the things that I took away from just being there for a few months. The experience was eye-opening, and life-changing. I experienced a culture and lifestyle, which was so completely different from what I was used to, I suppose I had a bit of a culture-shock, which actually made me feel extremely depressed and lonely the first month. Living in the conditions that I did while I was there, was one of the most difficult things I have ever done, yet I have never felt such fulfillment and Joy.

I have been home for almost 3 years now, and I have learned that I have a deep curiosity for other cultures and a desire to not just learn about, but actually Experience different parts of the world and to have a much deeper understanding of the way others live. It is very easy for everyone (myself included), to get sucked into this Western bubble, where we put so much focus on the material things we have, and by finding our value through what other people think of us.

As I have told numerous people, there are many who have dreams of traveling, and they may even put off making decisions such as: having children, or settling permanently into one place because they want to do this eventually. I have a dream of traveling, but I am bound and determined to make this dream a reality. I don't ever want to look back at my life and wish I had done something when I had the opportunity.

A few changes that I have experienced recently, have increased my desire even more to go out and experience life outside of the U.S. while I still have the chance. I have been having dreams about it constantly, and have started the planning process, mainly by doing some research.

I want to immerse myself in the different places of the world that I intend to travel, and really become a part of the culture that I'm in, eating the food, traveling locally, talking to the people, and learning more about myself along the way.

Stay tuned to see exactly where I plan to go on my trip, and the exciting things I have found so far.

Cheers.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb