health


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » East Lansing
November 7th 2007
Published: November 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone, this is Sean. I am sadly back in the united states. So here is what happened. We were having a great time traveling as you all have seen and read about. And we were making are way to the coast to go relax and swim in the sea. We wanted to stop in a small town on the way were you can get a $7 message. But on the bus ride there I started to feel really bad. When we got there I felt worse so I rested in bed for a couple of days. After 2 days I thought it was time to see the doctor. He was very nice and he took a blood test for malaria. It came back negative so he thought I just had an infection. The next day we made are way to the coast. To a place called Diu Island. After finishing the antibiotics the doc gave me I still had a bad fever and couldn't eat much. So we decided to go see a doctor in Diu. When he saw me and talked to me he knew I had malaria. So we gave me drugs even before blood test. The next day I went in for the blood test and when we got it back me and rachel could not believe what we were looking at. Apparently I managed to get 2 types of Malaria and Typhoid!
So I had to get on another malaria drug and a typhoid antibiotic. Rachel had been doing everything for me already and for the next 2 weeks all I could do an did was lay in bed with a fever while Rachel took great care of me. I love you so much Ray. After two weeks I wasent feeling great but I was felling much better. I could eat and had less frequent fevers. We sadly had decided that it was best for me to go home. So we bought my ticket home and all we had to do then was get to Mumbia. And getting there is another blog it self But I missed my flight so I had to wait tell the next day and we got put up in a 5 star hotel. Which was much needed by both of us. So I am home now and I think I am dealing with still one malaria which at this point is pittance. I am on drugs and I am getting better. So I appericate all your support and I love you all especially Rachel my wonderful wife.
Rachel will start here yoga on the 10th and it will last one month and then she will fly home.
sean


Advertisement



7th November 2007

Best Wishes
Welcome home Sean, sorry about the circumstances. Hope your health returns to you very quickly! And Best of Luck to Rachel, may she enjoy her remaining time abroad and return home safe and sound!
7th November 2007

Sean I just wanted to say that I am glad that you made it home and are getting better. I think Gin and tonic is a bartenders advice for malaria? Take it easy Ian
7th November 2007

Hey Sean, Two types of Malaria, and typhoid!!!! I couldn't even imagine! So stay strong man!
8th November 2007

Sean, we are so sad that you endured such an ordeal, but are happy that you are on the mend and in safe circumstances. It must have been hard to leave Rachel. You two have surely cemented an amazing relationship. Our best to you both!
10th November 2007

Better Days
hey boss, sorry to hear bout ur illness. sounds like ur doing better tho. thats awesome. i keep u in my prayers along with Ray. take care and u let me kno how things r going!

Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb