So you wanna be a backpacker?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Ann Arbor
April 22nd 2008
Published: May 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Travelling in styleTravelling in styleTravelling in style

Having to carry EVERYTHING really helps cut back on the shopping
So, here I am, back in the good old U-S-of-A, living life as an umemployed post-traveler, moping around my parents house, catching up on TV, and reminiscing with photos from my trip!

I just wanted to finish up my blog with this little disclaimer. Although I had an amazing trip, and had many incredible experiences, there were also a lot of crazy things I had to put up with. Life on the road entails a lot of rolling with the punches, and adapting to a lifestyle that many people would have difficulty with. Paying 4$-10$ a night for a hotel room in Thailand really helped my budget, but it also meant you didn't have much control over the conditions of the room. Sometimes they would be fine.....other times, not so much.

Ashley and I put together a list of a few of the more "interesting" things we encountered while backpacking. If you think you could survive these things and many more, you are definitely cut out for the backpacker lifestyle!!

You can handle being a backpacker if:

*You like having all your worldly wardrobe possesions cut down to about 3 shirts, 2 pants, and a few other
Not all pics  are perfectNot all pics  are perfectNot all pics are perfect

Esp. when you give your camera to drunk people
odd items, all carried around ON YOUR BACK. Clothes start to seem much less important when you have to carry them everywhere.

* You are cool with having your total hair styling products consist of a 90cent comb from a gas station, and a hair rubberband.

*You are ok with eating PB & J breakfast, lunch, and possibly dinner.....for weeks in a row.

* You have a tendency to cling to useless items such as plastic bags and string, bag-lady style....you never know when they will come in handy!

* You can put up with, and actually learn to enjoy, cold showers.

* Climbing into a bunk bed is second nature

*You look for a really obvious stain before declaring a shirt "dirty laundry"

* You don't mind having your entire wardrobe divided into three zippered compartments: Tops, bottoms, and underwear.

* You don't think it's unusual to have to pay someone to use a squat toilet

* You know that any hike under 3 miles doesn't justify putting shoes on....flip flops will suffice!

* You don't flinch when your restaurant/food stand uses dirty ice, has people handling food with
Smiling through the rainSmiling through the rainSmiling through the rain

It rained ALL day....during a boat cruise we had paid over 150$ for....
bare hands, questionable meat on a stick, and stray animals wandering in and out of the kitchen

* Wearing swimsuit bottoms instead of underwear seems like a reasonable alternative to doing laundry

*You don't know/mind if you are gaining weight, because all the clothes you have with you have elastic waistbands!

* You see actual bugs swarming around your bed and think to yourself "ugh...I really don't want to move all my stuff tonight", and go to bed anyways.

These are just a few of the things I dealt with during my 5 months. Got any other good travel stories/backpacker tips? Email me and I'll add it to the list! 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Yummy chicken feetYummy chicken feet
Yummy chicken feet

Lovely sight outside a restaurant we ate at
Tuk Tuk RidesTuk Tuk Rides
Tuk Tuk Rides

Our preferred method of travel in Thailand
Infant on a mopedInfant on a moped
Infant on a moped

Classic sight in Thailand
Sketchy 20 Bed Dorm RoomSketchy 20 Bed Dorm Room
Sketchy 20 Bed Dorm Room

To think...I paid 20$ to share a room with 19 other people!
Salon L-PSalon L-P
Salon L-P

My total hairstyling tools for the 5 months
Our personal havenOur personal haven
Our personal haven

We seriously looked forward to our daily 7-11 trips
SagethaewSagethaew
Sagethaew

Ash in a pickup truck/tuk-tuk at Koh Phangan
Jumbo Tuk-TukJumbo Tuk-Tuk
Jumbo Tuk-Tuk

I like to call it the Tuk-Tuk3, similar to the Hummer H3
Totally wiped outTotally wiped out
Totally wiped out

After the massive hike up the mountain in Krabi
My battered feetMy battered feet
My battered feet

This was basically the condition they were in the whole time
The Four SeasonsThe Four Seasons
The Four Seasons

One of our sketchier rooms in Laos
Tuk-Tuk RageTuk-Tuk Rage
Tuk-Tuk Rage

These would come and go...we had a bad run-in this day
Ash sleeping on a busAsh sleeping on a bus
Ash sleeping on a bus

You learn to sleep anywhere!


5th May 2008

gross
Hotbody will not be backpacking......
15th May 2008

Very entertaining! You should send this to a travel contest.
17th September 2009

Amazing Trip!
I was searching for a purse named Alyssa by the brand LP (Linea Pelle) and somehow got directed to your travel blog. Once I started reading I couldn't stop!! You had some amazing travels! I've dreamed of backpacking abroad, just have never had the means to do it. How much did you save up? My cousin went backpacking for three months in Australia and included NZ as well, also Tasmania. He ended up meeting his now future wife/mother of his unborn TWINS! while there and now lives in London where she's from. I think between his stories and travels and yours I'm going to try to get a trip for me started! :) If anything i'd settle for a two weeks stay in Queensland, NZ!!! :) Thank you so much for posting this online(AND PUBLIC!) so someone like me could read your travels and experiences. It was very uplifting and exciting! You're a great writer too! It read like an intense novel I couldn't put down! -Alyssa

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb