Visit to the Convent of the Sister of Cenacle, L.I., NY


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Worcester
December 18th 2010
Published: January 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Before I left Belgium, my grandsparents told me the story of my great-great-uncle who went to NY in de early twenties. He was a Chaplain at the Cenacle, Lake Ronkonkoma in Long Island, NY.

He spent 20 years as a missionary in Mongolia where he taught catechism to the young and old. He got sick and returned to Belgium. In 1926 he went to America where he became a priest of the Diosese of Brooklyn and then a Chaplain of the Religious of the Cenacle.

So I decided to visit the convent and his grave in Ronkonkoma. I send an email to the Sisters of Cenacle and Sister Madeline called me back to make an appointment.

I took the train at Penn Station and a taxi to the Convent. The Sisters welcomed me and were really interested to know more about him. I met Sister Madeline, who found information about him in the archives. She found an article that was published in the news with a "Final tribute to Fr. Verwilghen", a passage from the house journal with a detailed account from his last days.

The Sisters were really happy to meet me and they made a picture from me to put in the local news. They offered me a nice lunch and when it was time brought me back to the train station. I promised to send them some pictures and information that we have from him once I'll return home in February.

I had a really interesting day and was really excited to share my information with my grand-parents.


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



9th April 2011

the Cenacle
What a lovely find as I am browsing the internet. Your great great uncle was a very close friend of my grandparents. My grandfather Maurice worked at the Cenacle as the gardener. He and my grandmother (both Irish) were married at the Belgian National Parish in Manhattan. I have a strong suspicion that Fr. Henry married them and I have written to the Archdiocese to try and retrieve the records. Fr. Henry was my grandfather's naturalization sponsor along with Pat Rafferty (also of the Cenacle). Pat and Maurice built the grotto there. Thank you for the story and the photos!

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb