The Introductory Posting


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
April 27th 2011
Published: April 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Meet Us!Meet Us!Meet Us!

Here we are.
EURO-ADVENTURE COUNTDOWN: 24 DAYS

In Spring 2009, my sophomore year of college, I was lucky enough to spend a semester living in a castle in the Netherlands. Yes thats right, a castle in the Netherlands. On a daily basis I would wake up to the sounds of black swans screaming (or at least that's what it sounded like to me), look out the window of the tower that I lived in, and see the landscape that had become my home... two moats, tulips, children riding their bikes to school and my classmates sitting in the courtyard chain smoking. The only things that I had to worry about were my classes and planing my weekends, which were spent traveling around Europe. In my time abroad I went to 10 different countries, jumped out of a plane, almost got detained in an unidentified Slavic country, saw theater, art and dance, ate amazing food (and some not so amazing food), traveled by train, plane, bus, and bike and much, much more.

Even though all of these experiences will stay with me forever, or at least in the journals I used to document my semester, the greatest thing that I got from my time abroad were the friendships that I made with the people I traveled with. Rosie, my soon to be travel buddy, was one of those friends. There is a possibility we might be joined by two of our other Spring 09 Kasteel Dwellers (as we called ourselves), Kirin and Kelly, who are also very close friends of ours, but the jury is still out on if they will be joining us, but of course I will keep you updated otherwise. We had such a good time the first time around, that we decided to do it again. With college wrapping up in about 20 days, and our adult lives in front of us, we will be taking one final adventure before we are bound to potential 9-5 jobs and the idea of being a functioning grown-up.

I am sure if you are reading this you know myself, or Rosie, or if you should be so lucky, both of us, but incase you happen to not, let me introduce you the best I can:

Me (Rachael): 22 year old, soon to be graduate of Emerson College's theater education program. I am a puppet enthusiast, chocolate fan, and lover of children. I've spend the last four years of college essentially playing in all of my classes, because that is the nature of my major, and I've loved every second of it. If I could be a professional camp counselor I would be. Currently I am wrapping up a semester of student teaching drama at a middle school in the Metro-west right outside of Boston. I have a bit of a type A personality, although I am incredibly messy, but when I travel I am pretty anal. My ultimate goal for this trip is to be adventurous, and as always, go with the flow.

Rosie: 21 year old, soon to be graduate of Emerson College's BFA acting program. Life-long vegetarian and fun loving hippie. Cries when she eats good chocolate, and loves Dirty Dancing (both the movie and the activity). One of the star's of the Emerson version of Beyonce's Single Ladies video. On April 14th she will outshine every other award show host in history as one of the Co-hosts of the EVVY's, biggest multi-camera, student run award show. Most of all she is a dedicated and loyal friend, who has no shortage of love to give. I am positive she is destined for fame and greatness.


THE TRIP (as it is planned right now)
We fly out of Philadelphia International Airport on May 20th, and arrive in London on the 21st. We fly out of London on June 9th.

That is all we have planned.
Our possible travel destinations look like (in possibly this order)
Nice/South of France
Madrid
Lisbon
Edinburgh
London

This all is subject to change based on time, money and finding places to stay/people to stay with. We will be fleshing out details in the next couple of days, and I could not be more excited. Of course I will post any new details to the trip here, as well as documenting the trip itself when we actually travel into the great unknown.

Wish us luck as we start to embark on planning this journey, we're gonna need it!




Advertisement



27th April 2011

Yeah!!
Excited to hear about your adventures. ALSO: You going to see Monica? Ask SET for European Kappas for places to stay? Of course, you know all this. Let me know dates/times of going away party? Lovelove, Mel

Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb