3 days to lift off


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
June 21st 2008
Published: June 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's Friday, and I fly on Monday to Rio.
I've just had a brilliant few days wrapping up school - the play turned out to be fab, the last day was fun, we had an excellent pool party, interupted by a couple of vaccinations, then more tom foolery in the pool splashing about with my students. Usually I get hurt at the end of year party, but this year I got away scott free! I met up with Lucille, Eric, Mike C, Kristin, Karen, Kristina, Adrian, et al for a fun bash at Orleans in Davis Square, then rode home very carefully.
Today, I went into school early, crashed the room, finished the paperwork, then found a travel agent who was able to sell me a Brazil airpass, then had a two hour traffic jam to the second class party at Clare and Dana's house in Marshfield, which was also a gas. We went in the ocean, chucked seaweed around, caught a couple of waves, and an excellent time was had by all. Rather too short though as I had to leave to meet my good friend Paul fresh over from Blighty for the weekend. With incredible foresight, I had forgotten to ask him which flight he was on, or even from where he was flying, so I had to come back home.
A huge second run out to Marshfield is likely a bit much for jet-lagged Paul, I think, since it turns out he has indeed flown across the pond, not merely up from Washington D.C..
Anyways, I love those kids, and I love those parents too, so here's a toast to all of you (slurps on a small whiskey): To good health, a fabulous summer, and a properous future for one and all. I'm going to miss you all.
Tomorrow I pick up the Brazil airpass, and I will be taking Boy to his summer residence in Concord.
On the agenda: Watch a bit of footie, hang with my buddies, even shop for premitherin-soaked clothing.
I just read about vampire bats the size of a thumb that transmit rabies. Great. As if insect/fish creatures swimming 'upstream' weren't enough to worry about!
See you on the flypaper,
mike

Advertisement



22nd June 2008

I'm so excited for you. Enjoy your last evening in the States. I'll be checking your blog while I'm away. See you in September! Love, Kristin "My cow jives"
23rd June 2008

Good fun this weekend...a lot of laughs and it was great to see Paul again! Glad we had the chance to see Eric before he heads out as well. Both G and I are going to miss you very much, but are so happy to be able to follow along via your blog. Have a wonderful adventure....stay safe and healthy of course! Will keep an eye on things and have a go at keeping your plants alive and well (wish me luck, haaa!). If you need anything or want/need to contact us, feel free to email or phone (if you can): 781-572-2594. Lots of love, Suze and Gia

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1014.9kb