Bawston


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
June 27th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Boston LegalBoston LegalBoston Legal

The offices of Crane, Poole and Schmidt. If you look very closely you can see Denny and Alan having a glass of whisky and a cigar on the balcony ;-)
Phew, it's hot here in Boston - it's probably around 35 degrees, but it's not dry like in Las Vegas, so you feel it more.

Having lived almost nocturnally in Las Vegas, my bodyclock was not exactly properly calibrated. An overnight flight to Boston (I can't sleep on planes) sent it completely haywire. When I arrived at the hostel in Boston at 9am, I decided to have a nap; and then got up at 5pm. A day completely wasted. Of course, I couldn't sleep the following night and the obese, smelly Persian guy in my dorm - who proved the theory that the bigger they come, the louder they snore - didn't exactly help matters.
My mood wasn't helped when I discovered my overspending in Vegas meant that I can only spend a paltry US$28 a day from now on after accomodation.
With only two days left in Boston, I decided I wasn't gonna waste another day and got up bright and early at 12.30pm.

They call Boston - or "Bawston", as the locals pronounce it here - "The Walking City" and they're not wrong. I was amazed at the distance I had covered on my map in just
Back BayBack BayBack Bay

Back Bay has some very nice apartment buildings, typical of the architecture throughout the city.
20 minutes.
The buildings in Back Bay, the neighbourhood next to the one my hostel was in, are very nice. As the birthplace of the US, Bawston's colonial architecture is very pretty and gives the city a unique character.
Beacon Hill, the posh suburb next to Back Bay, is gorgeous and they got some real kick-ass apartments there. The cobblestone footpaths also helped to retain a historical and colonial feel to the place, which I liked. Even the 7-Eleven is done up old-skool. Beacon Hill also happens to be where the bar "where everybody knows your name" is - Cheers. Fliming wasn't done in the bar back then though, and Ted Danson and Kirstie Allie were nowhere to be seen - I wonder where they are now? ;-)
I then did the "Freedom Trail", a red line on the sidewalk that guides you to all the historical sites in Bawston. I hadn't checked how long it was, and it seemed to never end! It's a good way to explore the city though, taking you through interesting places like Little Italy.
After a hot dog and pizza at Quicy Market downtown, I was on the way home when I noticed one
Beacon HillBeacon HillBeacon Hill

The pretty streets of Beacon Hill.
of the numerous Irish bars here (not surprising given the city's strong Irish roots - mind you there's an Irish bar in every city around the world), The Black Rose, was showing the All Blacks vs Springboks test! So I just had to pop in and enjoy a pint, and enjoy it I did, although there where a few nervous moments!

I managed to get 3 hours sleep that night before my Persian friend woke me up again with his freight train impression at 3am.
Once again, exhausted from lack of sleep, I hit the streets of Bawston again the next day. Fenway Park, just down the road from the hostel and home of the Boston Red Sox, was my first destination. Since winning the "World" Series in 2004, the locals have been ever so proud of their team, giving them brief bragging rights over their most hated and more illustrious rivals, the New York Yankees. About 1 in every 3 Bostonians will be sporting some form of Red Sox merchandise. Unfortunately, the Red Sox weren't playing during my stay, and I politely declined the $12 stadium tour.
Instead, I spent the $12 going up the Prudential Tower for
Fenway ParkFenway ParkFenway Park

Home of the Boston Red Sox ;-)
some great views of the city. The audio tour they provide you with was also very informative.
The afternoon took me to Harvard University, arguably the most famous university in the world. What does US$50,000/year tuition fees get you? A prestigious degree and very plush surrounds. A mix of old, colonial buildings and state-of-the-art modern ones, this place was high-rolling. The general library is close to the size of Auckland Museum, and the lawns are immaculate.

Boston is a very nice city - it's pretty, easy to get around and laid back and I didn't encounter any bad areas - the city is very safe. I don't think enough happens in Bawston for me to live here however.

Anyway, off to New York City now, on a discount $15 Greyhound bus fare my English roommate told me about. It gets me closer to my hostel (meaning a cheaper taxi) than the "crazy Chinatown" bus I was gonna take - sweet deal.

Derek out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

A View From The TopA View From The Top
A View From The Top

From the top of the Prudential Tower looking out to Downtown Boston. Back Bay is the area next to the river on you left and next to it slightly further away is Beacon Hill. The green, vegetated bit is Boston Common, the city´s main park.
Where Everybody Knows Your Name...Where Everybody Knows Your Name...
Where Everybody Knows Your Name...

The pub that was the inspiration for the TV series. Didn't spot Ted Danson or Kirstie Allie though...
Boston Public LibraryBoston Public Library
Boston Public Library

This is inside the library - how kick-ass is that?
Faneuil HallFaneuil Hall
Faneuil Hall

This is where a lot of the anti-British political activity took place, in what is now downtown Boston.
Massachusetts State HouseMassachusetts State House
Massachusetts State House

The birthplace of the USA, I think.
Main Library at Harvard UniversityMain Library at Harvard University
Main Library at Harvard University

Yes, this is a university library.
Design School at Harvard UniversityDesign School at Harvard University
Design School at Harvard University

Harvard also has some flash new buildings, including this one.
Harvard UniversityHarvard University
Harvard University

Well, if you fail here, you can't blame your surroundings.
Law Library at Harvard UniversityLaw Library at Harvard University
Law Library at Harvard University

I managed to get inside this one - marble floors and the whole shebang. Very plush ;-)


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb