Trial Run at the Ferneboks


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland » Bowie
January 5th 2008
Published: January 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so I didn't actually type in this entry on the 5th of January, in fact I'm typing it in on the 24th. I'm doing a little catching up.

My official start date for my road trip was actually the 2nd of January and I decided to crawl before running since 5 months living out of a stationwagon is a little intimidating to me. So I drove out to Brookeville, Maryland which I think is further north than Bowie, less than an hour from Annapolis, nice and safe. In Brookeville live the parents of Alyce Fernebok, Harvey and Bonnie. Alyce was my roomate for 4 years at USNA and it's beginning to feel like I've known her parents almost as long as my own 😊 so I knew it would be a comfortable place to start.

It was great spending time with the Ferneboks, as a bonus, Alyce's younger sister Samantha was also home. She schooled me on the ways of Wii Guitar Hero, which she is very good at and I stink at. Harvey and I split the crossword puzzle everyday (he took all of the hard words and left me all the easy ones, ha!). And Bonnie and I did what women do best, we chatted 😊

The dogs had a good time as well. It was their first introduction to the fact that things were going to be very different for the next couple of months. The Ferneboks have two dogs, an Akita and a Siberian Husky. The Akita is very territorial and at least once, tried to have Aspen for a Scooby snack. Outside intervention was required. Poor Aspen. One thing the pups liked alot at the Ferneboks was the doggie dog. Finally, they could go outside whenever they felt like it.

Alright, well here it goes, I'm going to try and publish some pictures along with this entry. Wish me luck!

After an hour of trying, nothing happened. I'll try again another day 😞

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb