Going back to school


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland » Baltimore
November 4th 2013
Published: November 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I have gone back to school to get my Mates license. I will be spending the next two years between classes in Baltimore and working on Tugboats in the NorthEast. I will come out on the other end with my 1600 ton Mate of Towing License then get my Masters of Towing. I am attending classes at the Maritime Institute of Technologies And Graduate Studies, MITAGS, and obtaining my sea time aboard The Vane Brothers tug boats. The first three weeks of class we learned what to expect when we get underway and also all the ways we can loose limbs, burn up in a fire, drown, and die from hypotherma too! I had a two week "vacation" at home waiting on the Coast Guard to issue my documents, thanks to the governmment shutdown, and now I'm shipping out. Heading to Philly tomorrow to start my first hitch. Stay tuned.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1022.7kb