Living Through More Storms


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland » Annapolis
September 7th 2011
Published: September 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

In California we don’t have many tornados and in Central California we don’t have a ton of rain, so it is that the weather has been unnerving for me.

I waited out Hurricane Irene in Fredericksburg, VA with no power and lots of wind and rain. Not real bad, I’d sat out Hurricane Ike while living in my RV in Nola. Figured that being in a motel would be a little better and it was.

Moving up to Annapolis was fine, we had power and everything was open. Fine that is until Tropical Storm Lee came by to visit for a few days.

It rained for about 3 days straight and the rain poured down, so hard. On one occasion I ran from my car up to my room and my clothes were soaked. I had so much water running down my hair that I had to take a shower to stop the dripping. I had thought that I’d not take a shower but then when sweat started running into my eyes I decided otherwise.

Out on the roads driving was a mess. Roads were flooded, I had to drive in the middle of the road. The rain was coming down so hard that it was impossible to see sometimes, wipers had to run full blast.

Night before last we had a tornado warning, or watch, they are both the same to me. I became more and more nervous as the evening wore on. Where would I hide, how do I protect myself? Dale said to get by a wall but I was thinking more of a center room. A TV program told me to get into the center of the place. I put my camera bag, tripod, purse, shoes and car keys in the bathroom while I went into the front of my room in order to sleep with my flashlight by my side.

It was very unnerving to sit out the storm, especially for this chicken! Rain poured so hard and at one point the thunder roared for nearly an hour straight. I looked up tweets on Weather.com and found that others were tweeting what I was seeing so I knew that I wasn’t along.

Finally all of the warnings or watches lifted. I went to sleep and woke up to another day of rain.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.429s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb