Tom's of Maine's Birthday


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine » Portland
June 2nd 2010
Published: June 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

June 1st is my brother-in-law’s 50th birthday. When I first met Tom I had little faith that he would ever reach this milestone. A charming and reckless youth with a proclivity to tempt fate his longevity was questionable at best. I knew this as I had walked a parallel path at the same age and beyond. But like other men of good fortune we married women armed with common sense and the ability to instill the same in their spouses. Our marriages were life-altering events which we did not appreciate at the time. Patiently our wives made sure that we did. He is now busily occupied with being a great Dad and a productive worker. A steady and sane existence.

I woke early and put the finishing touches on Tom’s birthday card. When I planned my trip I had no idea that I would be in Maine for his birthday. Karen informed me of the fact a scant few days prior to departure. It took me that long to comb through my photo archives and locate enough pictures to put something together for him. I stuffed a manila envelope with glue sticks, construction paper and a Sharpie, which went into my bag for later assembly. I’ve discovered that a hand-made card is a gift much appreciated.

While I worked, Tom and Ellen’s high tech stainless steel Cuisinart bean-grinding coffeemaker screamed like a Boeing 727 prepping for take-off. An amazing toy that I made good use of during my stay. The kids had been given the day off from school but Ellen did the responsible thing and went to work. It was the sensible thing to do. Silly girl. While Tom slept-in the kids amused themselves with me in the living room. It was a three-cup morning.

Tom got up and read his birthday e-mails. He had apparently surprised others beside myself in hitting the half-century mark. I gave him his card, which I’m happy to say pleased him. We watched the local news weatherman who was given to using meteorological terms that I was unfamiliar with like; patchy river valley fog and puffy cue (for puffy cumulus clouds). It’s a different world up here. A light rain had started to fall (puffy cue?) as we all headed to the cinema to watch Shrek the Ogre play George Bailey in a Shrek III version of ‘It’s a Wonderful Life’. Once again Puss in Boots had all of the good lines. Outside, the skies opened and a fat rain drummed down upon the theater’s roof. A badly needed downpour for a thirsty Maine that played itself out before we left. We all wore our 3D glasses on the ride home thinking ourselves very cool. We were.

Ellen arrived back at the house shortly after we did. She and I made Tom’s birthday dinner. A perfectly grilled flank steak with red beans, rice and salad. The kids played while we cooked. This is a very contented home where the magic words ‘I love you’ fall from lips like a never-ending string of pearls. Tom and Ellen’s offspring are two of the kindest and gentlest children that I have ever had the good fortune to encounter. I couldn’t be prouder of these two wonderful parents. Ellen is a matriarch in every sense of the word. Kind, loving and as steady as a rock. It was a pleasure to get reacquainted with her. It was an honor to be her guest.

Dinner done and consumed we sang Happy Birthday and dug into Tom’s Oreo-mint ice cream cake. After the kids headed
Mike and the KidsMike and the KidsMike and the Kids

3D glasses are way cool
up to bed we adults laughed and talked about our Maryland days in between congratulatory phone calls to Tom from friends too many to count. I consider myself lucky to be numbered among them.

That’s it folks. The perfect ending to a perfect week. I kick myself for not visiting sooner and I will endeavor not to make the same mistake again.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

MaddieMaddie
Maddie

Her Sophia Loren shot.
The MatriarchThe Matriarch
The Matriarch

Untangling linguine.


2nd June 2010

Thanks
Michael, you have put into words what I feel every time I visit Tom and Ellen and the kids. You can easily see why I miss them so much. Your words and pictures do so much to convey the sense of love and contentment of Tom's and Ellen's home; you have a very special talent for spotlighting the flavor of experience. Love, Liz
2nd June 2010

Tom's Bday
Thank you for your kind words and recognition. Being around a family that is so centered does have a calming effect. Another fine blog buy The Minke.
2nd June 2010

Liz who?
I take it that was Liz my mother rather than Liz my sister, right?
2nd June 2010

Liz who?
I don't remember referring to any of the Liz's in the entry but then again I am getting old. If you're referring to the comments then that was your Mom.
2nd June 2010

Thanks
I'm proud to call the author my brother. I'm even more happy to call him my friend. Safe travel home and we all love you and my sister and nephew.

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 19; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb