Balut


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine » Brooklin
October 6th 2009
Published: October 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm in Bridgton ME. My house, in fact.

People always have to talk or write about the local foods they eat while traveling.

OK. I will, too. Balut is the partially developed duck embryo. I think a duck hatches at 28 days. These are boiled at 17, 18, or 21 days. I'm told with the 21 day old eggs one can actually feel the developing bones. Mmmm, crunchy!

Visited Countries Map


You may have seen this on Fear Factor a few years ago...

I have been to the Philippines 6 times and I have come to really enjoy balut. It's like a boiled egg with a few feathers and the beak, too. The feet too, of course in a ducky broth.

Oh, good I'm a real blogger now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb