Red Beans and Rice


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Louisiana » New Orleans
August 8th 2009
Published: August 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This morning we woke up, checked out, and went to Starbucks (I got a venti, omg, never again it was giant!)  mom and I then got dropped off at northpark grudgingly by dad and had 2 hours, we went to urban outfitters. Then it was back on the road for an hour. We then stopped at a lovely Burger King. Back to the car. The boys watched movies while I listened to my iPod. We then stopped in The Hood, Louisianna at yet another gas station. The locals were getting increasingly Southern accents. Dad came up with an inventive way to get peoples attention, chuck jellybean bullets at them. Tension rises as we make our way down louisiana and a few small cat fights arise in the middle seat between Connor and Caleb. I feel like a reality show. The tension reaches a high when Caleb can't find his cologne. Why does he even need it in the car? Then Connor complains about my iPod singing, and dads road rage flares. 5 1/2 hours in the car are getting to us. 2 1/2 more just to get to New Orleans! I still haven't seen any alligators, all there is is trees and more trees! And, these aren't shrimpy oklahoma trees they are GIANT! I've never seen so many trees! Then we drove and drove and drove, and finally saw the marshes but no alligators. Then we drove and drove and drove again. And we entered new Orleans! It's like nothing i've ever seen! There are people walking everywhere and I even saw a "voodo mart" when we got to the hotel they gave us 1 king! Later we went and walked around it was really interesting it was like old French buildings and palm trees. Connor and I did get a little nervous. At diner everything was super spicy and mom and dad had some drinks that loosened them up alot. Then we walked around the city. Caleb even danced in the street to a street muscian. That was entertaining. Maybe I'll like new orleans better tommorow.

Advertisement



8th August 2009

Yes, Scarlet tomorrow is another day!
Sounds fun ....I describe New Orleans as a dirty bathtub....can't wait to hear what you think! Enjoy yourself and beware of the VOODOO folks!
8th August 2009

Awesome
Sounds hilarious I wish I was there to see caleb dancing. New Orleans is pretty cool right.There's some weird people there. I hope you have fun! :) I'll keep commenting bring on the Conner and Caleb hilarious moments. Love, Jax

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb