Happy 4th of July everyone!


Advertisement
Published: July 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hi ya'll! Wow ... a lot has happened since my last blog. I moved out of my apartment last Thursday and am now in my RV at a park down the road. The move was like all moves ... stuff seemed to multiply and expand. The more I boxed and moved to storage, the more stuff I seemed to have. It was surreal.

James and I started moving things on Wednesday. We were really in the flow and I was not thinking very far ahead when I told him, "Hey, let's go ahead and bring the sofa and my bed over to storage. That way all we will have to move tomorrow are the boxes and smaller things." So, we loaded them up, hauled them over to the storage unit and went back to the apartment. As soon as I walked in the apartment I said, "Oh Shit! James, I don't have any place to sleep tonight!!!" It was funny. I looked around and saw that we had left the sofa cushions and some pillows and decided I would sleep on those. And it worked. I woke up the next morning rested and ready to get the rest of my things out.

I told James that since we just had small stuff to move and it shouldn't take long I was going to come down there and find an RV park. I found a park I liked and drove the RV over there. James followed in the truck.. He said my RV driving skills had improved! I decided to pay for a full week to allow myself time for maintenance on my car and to famaliarize myself with operating all the systems on the RV. The park is $25 a night with electeric, water, sewer, garbage and showers. Not too bad I guess. It its still cheaper than the rent I was paying for the apartment.

After we made sure the AC was working properly, James and I headed back to the apartment in his Ford Ranger pickup. I hadn't realized how much stuff was still in the apartment. We filled his truck quickly and decided we would either have to make two more trips or get help. So, we called Sarah and loaded her car as well. An unending streaming of stuff seemed to be oozing out of the walls. We squeezed as much as we possibly could into Sarah's car and headed back to the RV. The kids were laughing at me as we started stacking the boxes in the RV. They were saying, "Mom, you don't need all this stuff. It is not going to fit." And, being stubborn, I said "Don't worry about it. I have plenty of storage space." I am still trying to squeeze it all in!!!! Should have listened to the young ones! 😊

By this time it was 8:30 or so and we were all exhausted. Sarah had to go to work the next day so she went home. James and I talked and decided to switch to my car because we would be bringing the cats with us on the final load, and since we didn't have much stuff left and were certain it would all fit. When we walked into the apartment we had TWO of those "Oh Shit!" moments! First we flipped the switch to turn on the lights and nothing happened. Entergy had already turned off the lights! James and I were basically packing the rest of the stuff from light coming through the windows. That was interesting. The next surprise was we had forgotten we had a bicycle and a hand truck to move along with several medium sized boxes. We looked at each other and decided there was no way we were going back to get the truck. WE were going to make it fit!!!

The rear seat in my car folds down so we were able to get the bike in with some manuvering and slid the hand truck in under it. After that we tucked things into every crevice we could find around the bike and the hand truck. We put the cats in the carrier and stacked stuff all around and on top of the carrier. They were good little troopers. Didn't complain just laid in there and watched in amusement!

We finished up about 10:30, got in the car to leave and the ignition went, "Click, click, click." Ugh ... dead battery. Fortunately, one of the few neighbors that I knew drove up about 11 and jump started the car for us. We quickly got in the car, dropped off the trash and headed down Sherwood toward the interstate. We were stopped at the traffic light waiting to turn onto the interstate at Seigen Lane when I remembered that I had forgotten to drop the keys to the apartment in the lock box. Geez ... had to make a U turn and go back to the apartment. It was midnight before we got back on the interstate. I dropped James off at the house and drove down to the RV. I took out only what had to go in and went to bed around 1:30.

Thank you James and Sarah!!! I could not have moved without your help.

Friday was my birthday!!!! And it was a wonderful day! I received lots of birthday wishes from friends and family and made a dent in the stuff stacked to the rafters in my RV. Well, technically, RVs don't have rafters but you get the idea. The cats were quiet but curiously exploring every inch of the RV. I had dinner with James at Don's that evening. We had a delicious ribeye and smashed potatoes. Yum! It was Sarah's second anniversary with Clark so they had dinner together. She asked if we could do a birthday lunch on Saturday.

I got up Saturday and met Sarah for lunch at IHop. RWe love their harvest nut and grain pancakes! Then I went back to Gonzales so James and I could change the rear brakes on my car. Well, actually, I only helped. James and Nelson did all the hard work. Thanks guys!

Sunday morning I unpacked more stuff and boxed up a load to go back to the storage shed. Yes, I found some things I could do without! I picked Sarah up and went to Best Buy for a computer. I told the young woman that I was going on a road trip in an RV so I need something with wireless capabilities and that I planned to take lots of photos. She showed me an HP laptop that I liked and then suggested either a wireless card through my cell phone provider or buying a broadband card and purchasing data as I used it. It all seemed really complex so I punted on that decision for a while. What that means is my internet access will be spotty for a while so you may not get daily updates on my blog. But I will do my best! 😊

Today Sarah and I had lunch at Counter Culture. They make the best tuna melt I have ever eaten. Then we saw Green Lantern and I really enjoyed it. Ryan Reynolds is easy to look at!!!!! Then back to the apartment so I could access internet and create this blog. So that is what has been happening. Hope you all are doing well. I plan to send before and after pictures of the RV in the next blog. Oh, please forgive any typos or gramatical errors. I have not been able to find spell check on this software.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb