Lovin' Louisville


Advertisement
Published: May 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

There’s a certain energy in the air here in Louisville cause its Derby week. Although many of the locals I’ve talked to say they’ve never been , there is still a party atmosphere. Guess its kinda like New Yorkers and Times Square on New Years eve. The band Velcro Pygmy’s http://www.velcropygmies.com/-that I saw last night at 4th street live talked about skipping school and going to work all week with a hangover. They were a Heavy Metal cover band complete with a horn section and choreographed head banging, or so I thought till they played a few old favorites like 867 5309 and Jessie’s Girl but they were a lot of fun to watch. Yesterday I found the Main street trolley-a free trolley that I used for a city orientation. I walked the waterfront ,saw all the steamboats and hung out at the Fest-a Ville. Later I attended a Four Roses Bourbon Party at the Galt House .

Today I got on a city bus with all the locals and visited the Derby Museum. Not the dusty old artifacts in glass cases kinda museum, this had interactive games like racing a horse and trivia and a 365 degree movie. I even got to try on a jockey costume and sit on top of a racehorse ( plastic of course) Even got a tip on a horse!

I have no home base today, I checked out of my hotel and didn’t check into the new one yet cause its 12 miles away. So now I parked in a Panera with an overpriced coffee and free wifi. ( Starbucks had no wifi- oh the horror!) Later I’ll check out the parade down Broadway and meet my friends who are arriving today. Got no shortage of people to talk to, as soon as I say anything I am a dead ringer for an out -of -towner. Ya’ll not from around here huh? “ they say. “ In for the Derby r ya? me, never been” The slow Southern drawl is a pleasure to listen to . I could stay here a long time….


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb