#10--Forget Toto.. There's a five-legged cow up in here!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas
August 24th 2011
Published: September 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Prairie DogPrairie DogPrairie Dog

How would I know if he saw his shadow?
8/22-11 to 8/24/11

Abilene, Kansas
Colby, Kansas


When I told my friends about my drive across the country, most of them thought it was a pretty cool idea. Some had mixed reviews about the meditation retreat, but generally, most everyone supported my desire to hangout with friends while visiting major cities and history spots across the nation. This enthusiasm waned a bit regarding my two major stopovers in Kansas (with the exception of Leslie, who is as much of a self-proclaimed history dork as I am). I almost considered making a third stop in Dodge City, to visit a Wild West and cattle-range town, but I was unable on this trip. Next time. We really are dorks, Leslie. lol

The 158 mile drive from Independence to Abilene wasn't much to write home about, except that I was driving from one presidential library to another. I was unable to thoroughly view Truman's library, as I was short on time, but my sole purpose in staying in Abilene was to spend as much time in the Eisenhower presidential library as I wanted. It is the ONLY thing worth doing in Abilene.

I haven't said much about my hotel/motel accommodations
Inside the Eisenhower HomeInside the Eisenhower HomeInside the Eisenhower Home

In Ike's living room
on this trip, as they have been modest, but clean. My friends have all styled me, but when I had to get a room, I booked through priceline. I have named my own price, saved money and slept well. That all changed in Abilene. I don't know if there were any decent places to stay in this town, at least not that were listed online. This motel reminded me of a bad dream sequence in Nightmare on Elm Street--right down to the lone rusted spring mounted riding toy animal in the middle of the grass. It's not that I feared for my life, as most of the other guests seemed to be laid back truckers, it was just run down and gloomy. There were also bugs. The sink was full of them, and I feared the bed. I busted out my cedar side (all natural, non-chemical bug spray) and doused the place. I thought about filling the bathtub with it and sleeping in a pool of repellant, but there was no plug (not that it drained that well anyway). I kept my shoes on the whole time. I'm pretty sure my feet woulda stuck to the carpet. I called Julie
me-n-the lookout soldierme-n-the lookout soldierme-n-the lookout soldier

(D-day Exhibit in the Eisenhower Library)
for support, and she found my misery to be amusing. I reverted to beer and Mike's Hard Lemonade. I hope I'm not undoing all the work I did at my meditation retreat, but I was not in the mood to let all beings be happy when only one of us paid for room and board.

The next morning, I high-tailed it to Ike's place to check out his home, library, museum and resting place. I really enjoy going into the childhood homes of famous people. Perhaps it is the voyeur in me. (I also like reading their diaries.) This was Eisenhower's home from ages 8-20 and where his mom spent the rest of her life. All of the furniture and wall-hangings were as she left it. She passed away before he became president, but there were family photos of Ike, as well as photos of him at Westpoint. Ike grew up without running water or electricity in his home. To think that he would be president during the atomic energy craze and die the same year a man landed on the moon. The home was the only part of the Eisenhower center that focused on his life before WWII
Resting place of Dwight D. EisenhowerResting place of Dwight D. EisenhowerResting place of Dwight D. Eisenhower

34th President of the United States (1953-1961)
and the presidency. The library didn't mention his early years.

I thought the library was as interesting and curious as Eisenhower's presidency. It's funny, when people talk about the good ol' days of America, they often mention the 50s and Eisenhower. Republicans love to claim him, and democrats wish they could have, but I don't think he would be in either party today. Modern Republicans would have him assassinated for his 90% tax rate on the wealthy and expansion of Social Security, and democrats would lambast him for decreasing spending on social programs. He seems a contradiction to me with a very mixed legacy, which was touched upon in the library.

When it came to civil rights, Eisenhower personally opposed the movement and did not take any personal stand on desegregation, yet he sent in the militia to enforce the Brown v. Board decision at Little Rock. As for the military, Eisenhower warned of "the military-industrial complex" and spoke about "atoms for peace", while building nuclear submarines and h-bombs that fueled the complex he warned about.

The other aspects of his presidency highlighted in the library included the expansion of the U.S. to include Hawaii and Alaska,
Two Headed CalfTwo Headed CalfTwo Headed Calf

Inside Prairie Town
Eishenower's role as an ambassador, and increasing spending to build the infrastructure of America. I was unaware of his People to People Ambassador Program and would like to learn more about it- it seems cool. From what I gathered, it works to create peace by creating interactions and cultural exchanges between people from different countries. There was a lot at the library about his role as an ambassador. I also have to give personal props to Eisenhower for the Interstate Highway System, as I drove the roads that his administration funded and established.

The other sections of the library I really liked were about D-Day, Mamie Eisenhower and the impact Eisenhower has on today. Since Eisenhower was the Supreme Commander during D-day, there was a lot of really cool info about the Normandy crossing. I especially liked reading the letters to and from soldiers to their families. hmmmn... am I a voyeur or just nosey? I was in a goofy mood and took fun pics with the soldier mannequins. There was a whole wing dedicated to Mamie and all her pink outfits, but unfortunately no mannequins to play with. Of all the libraries I've been to, Mamie's section was
Standing 5-legged CowStanding 5-legged CowStanding 5-legged Cow

I bet he could swat a fly or two with that thing
bigger than any of the other first ladies. The section on Eisenhower's impact today seemed to be regularly updated with articles and news videos. All-in-all, it was a pretty good library.

After leaving Abilene, I continued down the Dwight D. Eisenhower Highway (70) towards Colby, Kansas, home of the Prairie Museum and Sod House. The 225 mile drive was...well... prairie--A lot of grass with some small hills; hardly any trees. Along the way, I kept seeing signs for the most random of museums, for example, the Barbed-Wire Museum (I didn't stop in) and the world's largest ball of twine (missed this too)... but I couldn't pass up the freak zoo just outside of Colby. Prairie town is this really weird zoo of sorts that boasts rattlesnakes, birds, foxes, raccoons, bison, 5-legged cows, a 36-inch mule and the world's largest prairie dog. I wasn't going to miss this. There were a zillion prairie dogs roaming around the grounds, popping out of their holes and making funny sounds. I was disappointed to see the largest one, however, was made of ceramic. As for the mule, 36 inches sounds small for a mule, but when you say 3-feet, it sounds like the
Standing in Front of the Sod HouseStanding in Front of the Sod HouseStanding in Front of the Sod House

Made of grass and Mud (some wood as support beams)
size of... let's say... a mule! I was about to leave, dejected, when I saw the five-legged cows. There were two of them and they each had legs growing out of their backs. Weird! Now this was good stuff! The fifth leg may have been on the gimpy side, and just kinda hung there, but who am I to judge--that's an extra leg!!! This was worth $6.50 ($3.25 a leg).

Colby, Kansas is known for the Prairie Museum of Art and History. This was not an off-the-highway, unplanned stop for me, but one I mapped out and was looking forward to. I teach about westward migration and life on the plains, but I have never seen it. I was excited to see what this museum had to offer. I was NOT disappointed. It reminded me of a midwest Smithsonian with an amazing glimpse of American culture and farmstead history. The collection inside the museum was from the Kuska family, who collected dolls, furniture, clothing, quilts, toys, glass, ceramics, silver, souvenirs, household items, tools, musical instruments, coins, buttons, clocks, stamps, guns, minerals, and art. It was extensive, to say the least, with pieces that spannned a couple hundred years. I
Reading my McGuffy ReaderReading my McGuffy ReaderReading my McGuffy Reader

Inside the Prairie School House
especially liked the collection of wedding dresses complete with histories of wedding traditions. I was thinking of the people in my life who would love this place, especially Carol and some of the moms of my friends (and of course Leslie).

On the grounds outside, I was able to experience prairie life by visiting a sod house, a one-room school, a country church and a 1930s farmstead. I was waiting for Laura Ingalls to pop out of the school house and Manly to drive up in a horse-drawn carriage (my fingers were really crossed for the latter), but it was just me exploring the life on the plains all by myself. So I was stupid. I rang the school bell and tried on the clothes of the day; even taught a class and delivered a church sermon. (It is possible that I am crazy.) The sod house fascinated me the most as it was made of mud and grass. It was a lot cleaner inside than I expected it to be, but definitely not a place I would enjoy living in. Pretty resourceful way to build a house without using a lot of wood.

If I was driving
Wedding Dress collection and HistoryWedding Dress collection and HistoryWedding Dress collection and History

The Kuska Collection inside the the Prairie Museum of Art and History
through Kansas in the future, I would visit the Prairie Museum of Art and History again. (But then, I'd also visit Womega to see Dorothy's house and the Oz Museum and winery...)

After Colby, I hopped in my car, reminded myself that there is no place like home, and headed to Colorado to find it.




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Me-n-the smoking soldierMe-n-the smoking soldier
Me-n-the smoking soldier

(D-day Exhibit in the Eisenhower LIbrary)
The Creeper and the KissThe Creeper and the Kiss
The Creeper and the Kiss

(D-day Exhibit in the Eisenhower LIbrary)
Dummy used during D-DayDummy used during D-Day
Dummy used during D-Day

dropped behind enemy lines to fool them. It exploded when it landed
Lazy 5-legged cowLazy 5-legged cow
Lazy 5-legged cow

I wish the leg worked
Ringing the School BellRinging the School Bell
Ringing the School Bell

At the Prairie School house
Prairie Teacher Ringing the School BellPrairie Teacher Ringing the School Bell
Prairie Teacher Ringing the School Bell

Inside the Prairie School House
Inside of the Sod HouseInside of the Sod House
Inside of the Sod House

Sitting on the rocker (tired from trying on all the prairie outfits)
Inside the Prairie ChurchInside the Prairie Church
Inside the Prairie Church

Reading my hymn book (like a good Prairie boy)
Porcelain Plate CollectionPorcelain Plate Collection
Porcelain Plate Collection

Just a fraction of the plates on display in the Prairie Museum


17th October 2011

McGuffy!
Ha, I was going through a box of childhood things and in the box was the entire collection of McGuffy Readers! I don't know if my mom taught me out of those when I was younger but I would not be surprised. Love your posts Jason!

Tot: 0.29s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0846s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb