The End or Just the Beginning?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas
May 15th 2009
Published: May 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Holding Up the AtomiumHolding Up the AtomiumHolding Up the Atomium

I finally made it there on my last day in Brussels!
I suspected that my post about my final day in Brussels would be my last entry. I know it's been a month now since I left Brussels, and I apologize for just now getting around to writing about it, but it's been quite the month and it looks like my adventures are far from over.

Well, to quickly summarize my last day in Brussels, Michael and I flew back from Venice early enough to do a bit of Brussels sightseeing before packing everything up and heading back to the U.S. the next day. Believe it or not, I had not yet been to see the Atomium since I got to Brussels nearly three months earlier. The Atomium is this massive atom-looking structure that was built for the 1958 World's Fair. As Michael and I headed towards it we stopped for a final frite indulgence at Maison Antoine. Once we got to the Atomium we took some fun pictures and noticed there was quite the crowd there that day. We soon noticed there were people repelling from the top of the Atomium. Some extreme sport group had a "Deathride," as they called it, set up for people who wanted to repel
Au Revoir Bruxelles!Au Revoir Bruxelles!Au Revoir Bruxelles!

Au revoir! Tot weerziens! See you soon! Auf wiedersehen!
from the top of the Atomium. Michael said I couldn't do it because I had a skirt on. Probably for the best.

Next, I had asked Michael to show me the Chinese Pavilion and the Japanese Tower, which I thought were much closer to the Atomium than they ended up being. The King had ordered the commission of these after being impressed with other models at a Worlds Fair in Paris. They are incredibly impressive and very fun to see in the middle of Belgium.

After our Maison frites, the Atomium, the Chinese Pavilion and the Japanese Tower our Brussels tour was pretty much complete. As we returned back to the apartment for the night I felt accomplished with my internship, ecstatic about all the places I was able to visit and things I was able to do and see over the past three months, and was actually ready to come back to the U.S. I feel I could've stayed in Brussels forever, but knew it was time to come home.

After an eight out plane ride to Philadelphia, a short layover with an hour delay, and a four hour flight to Denver, my parents welcomed me
The AtomiumThe AtomiumThe Atomium

Taking a piece of Brussels home with me.
back home with open arms and teddy grams (as requested, along with orange juice) at 11:00 p.m. on April 11th. Since Easter was the next day, I had begged them to go ahead and drive us back to Colby so that we could get up the next morning, go to mass, and then spend Easter at my grandparent's house. Through thick fog and fatigue, we made it back to Colby sometime between 2:00 and 3:00 am. And believe it or not, after traveling for almost 24 hours straight and hardly even sleeping on the planes, I only fell asleep for about 20 or 30 minutes on the way back to Colby.

Much to my delight, my parents and I did wake up in Colby the next morning, went to Easter mass, and then got to spend Easter at my grandparent's house. To be in Brussels one day and then spending Easter with my parents and grandparents back in Kansas the next day was simply unreal.

It didn't take me too long to get adjusted back to Central Standard time. I only woke up at 5:30 am for a few days after first getting back. This was a really
Maison AntoineMaison AntoineMaison Antoine

How I miss you so!
good thing too because I had seven books and a thirty page paper to write for my final three credits so that I could graduate this semester. Thus, the reason it took me so long to finally get this blog entry written. I spent three weeks straight reading, day, after day, after day. Then, I wrote, and wrote, and wrote. I started in Colby and after about a week went to Lawrence to work there, attend some ceremonies, and catch up with friends.

Though I love my roommates in Lawrence more than anything, I have to say it was not easy for me to be back. I sub-let my room out to one of my best friends in the whole world for the semester since I would be gone. But, when I got to Lawrence I felt like a squatter in my own house, sleeping on the couch and soaking up what little peace and solitude I could get whenever possible. This only child did not realize how much she valued having a place of her own, a little privacy, and a bed. Needless to say, it was not very easy to read or write my paper in Lawrence
Mmmm....Mmmm....Mmmm....

...my last Maison indulgence.
and I soon had to retreat to my aunt's house in Kansas City who so graciously let me stay with her for a few days. My two weeks in Lawrence gave me a greater understanding and appreciation for Virginia Woolf's essay "A Room of One's Own".

I'll admit, there were a few things that I really enjoyed about being back in Lawrence though. Getting to see and catch up with all of my Lawrence friends and former co-workers was really great. Being able to study in coffee shops again was amazing (there really aren't any in Brussels.) But, I do have to say I felt awful the first time I had to drive to go pick up a few things from the grocery store. I really, really miss being able to walk or take the metro everywhere in Brussels.

The best part about being back in Lawrence though was being able to go back to the Dole Institute. I've spent so much time there during my undergraduate education that it's almost become a second home to me. It was so great to get to see everyone that works there again and attend some of their events. I was
The Chinese Pavilion The Chinese Pavilion The Chinese Pavilion

Yes, this is in Brussels.
so honored when the Director had asked me if I would like to do the student introduction for our guests for the Dole Lecture, which I would luckily be in town for. The Dole Lecture is one of our biggest lectures each year and this year it was given by Senators Bob and Elizabeth Dole. After being a Kansan for 22 years, a Dole Scholar for 4, and a student assistant at the Institute for almost 2 years, I had yet to meet Bob or Elizabeth Dole. I was absolutely elated when I found out I would get to introduce them, greet them when they arrived, and spend much of the day with them.

During my last week in Brussels, I watched one of Kathleen Sebelius's Senate confirmation hearings and Bob Dole spoke on her behalf. One of the people in my office gave me a hard time for being so tuned into the hearing, but I was so proud of these two Kansans who were so dedicated to public service.

The day of the lecture, the Senators were more charming and more personable than I ever could have imagined. Senator Bob Dole's daughter, Robin, even flew in
The Japanese TowerThe Japanese TowerThe Japanese Tower

Yup, so is this.
with them and was just as nice and easy to talk to as they were. I gave my little introduction for them at the reception before the lecture and told them how much their service and the Institute meant to me and so many other students at the University of Kansas. Afterwards, Elizabeth Dole gave me a big hug and thanked me for the kind introduction. For my last event to really be a part of at the Dole Institute, I couldn't think of anything that would have been better. It was the best final program I could have ever imagined.

As the days before I was set to head back to Colby grew numbered, I closed in on finishing my '30 page paper' on the 2008 Presidential election. I had 25 pages written the night of our Student Recognition Ceremony at the Dole Institute when I talked to my professor and told him of my progress up to that point. At which he replied, "25 pages?! Did I tell you to write that much?!" I sighed and responded: "Uhm, well, actually you said you wanted 30." My '30 page paper' ended up being 35 plus endnotes.

The day after I finished my paper I rode back to Colby with my Aunt Val. It was so nice not having to drive back by myself and I was so excited to get to sleep in a real bed again.

I have thoroughly enjoyed every minute since I got back to Colby. On Saturday we threw a surprise birthday party for my mom. A bunch of our friends and family came out and we had such a great time. Sunday we went to my cousin's high school graduation in McCook, Nebraska. I've spent most of the week just applying for jobs (lots of them!), riding my bike around the countryside, and catching up with old friends. I got to bowl with one of my high school friends on Monday, plant flowers with another on Wednesday, and catch up over some cherry limeades with another today. And, I've gotten to sleep in a bed every night since I got back! You really can't beat that!

Tomorrow my parents and I will head back to Lawrence. With my internship credits counted and my paper written, I will graduate from the University of Kansas this weekend. It's so hard for me
The Dole LectureThe Dole LectureThe Dole Lecture

I finally got to meet Senators Bob & Elizabeth Dole!!
to believe that my four years at KU are over and I finally, finally get to walk down the hill. I'm sure it will be rather surreal, as most graduations are. Full of memories of laughter and tears, new hopes, dreams, and fears. But, just like my final days in Brussels I've realized, it's not the end, but the beginning. On Saturday and Sunday I will go through graduation ceremonies (yes two of them), and on Tuesday I will head to Washington D.C.

Though I don't have a job yet, I'm heading to D.C. to strike up some prospects. My hope is that while I'm there, I'll be able to tell if that is really where I want to be or not. For once in my life I have absolutely no idea what the future holds for me. I'll admit that while it is a little exciting, it's also a little scary. But, I guess that's the thing about beginnings. You can sometimes guess how things will turn out in the end, but beginnings are always new, surprising, and exciting. That's how I know this is not the end, but the beginning of what could possibly become the greatest
Senators Bob & Elizabeth DoleSenators Bob & Elizabeth DoleSenators Bob & Elizabeth Dole

They were more charming than I could ever have imagined.
adventure of my life: my entrance into "the real world".



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Western Kansas SunsetWestern Kansas Sunset
Western Kansas Sunset

....this I did miss.
My DadMy Dad
My Dad

I guess I missed him too...
My MomMy Mom
My Mom

...and maybe her as well. ;)
Back in ColbyBack in Colby
Back in Colby

See, it's pretty here too!
Sunset from Colby Sunset from Colby
Sunset from Colby

That's no Brussels.


15th May 2009

I did not
"One of the people in my office gave me a hard time for being so tuned into the hearing, but I was so proud of these two Kansans who were so dedicated to public service." I did not, but I do miss (teasing) you.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb