09 Wyandotte Co Lake Park Ride


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Kansas City
July 26th 2009
Published: July 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It was a beautiful Sunday afternoon. My morning had started early as usual on Sundays, I am at the Legion by 7:15AM to unlock the pantry and anywhere else the breakfast crew might need into. The legion has an all you can eat breakfast for $7 every Sunday from 9am to 12 noon. The different groups at the legion each sponsor one of the Sundays. But all but the first Sunday is actually done by the Riders, the motorcycle group at the legion. The sponsoring group gets half the proceeds brought in by the breakfast, the clubroom gets the other half to pay for the food used. I am usually stuck there until at least 12:30 as I help clean up and put stuff away. The legion guys that are supposed to show up and take care of unlocking and locking up rarely show up in time to do either and even more rarely help with breakfast. Sometimes I do not get out of there until 3:30 or 4PM if I decide to do the cleaning so I don’t have to go in on Monday at all. This Sunday it was the 40/8 breakfast so it was more fun than usual. The Grand Chef de Gare requested that I take some pictures of the crew at work for him this morning.





































































I had left my camera in the kitchen for a few minutes while I was doing some thing else. Normally in a 40/8 activity is someone can pick up your property then you get to buy it back as a fine. With the money going to the organization. The main goal is scholarships for nurses. I remember thinking how lucky I was it was still there. When I downloaded my pics later in the day I found a variety of Butt shots. These guys are a hoot. Here are a couple.





With having such a fun morning this meant I could not stand to stay any longer at the post than necessary so I was out at 12:30PM. As I am heading home I noticed that the odometer on the bike was 119,978 miles. So close to 120K, could I actually just ride the 7 miles home and put her away so close to a milestone??? NO! It was a beautiful Sunday afternoon. On the way home it didn’t take long to realize that Effie should turn her milestone while going around Wyandotte County Lake Park.



Wyandotte County Lake is one of my favorite local rides. The road around the lake is 7 miles long with 71 changes of direction. The only downside is it is well monitored with a speed limit of 25 MPH. But on the hottest of days this tree covered road will provide a cool passage for the hottest of motorcyclist. The route is a nice little relaxing trek that I enjoy as frequently as I can. The views are just great too.



The day before was the Poppy Poker Ride, a fundraiser for our Poppy fund. The Poppy fund pays for our veteran projects in the Auxiliary. The Poppy is a memorial flower for deceased veterans. The Run visited 5 war memorials one of them was the Vietnam/Korean war memorial at the lake. I had routed that poker ride so it went around the lake road. I was surprised how many of the riders had not ridden the lake. Many had also not ridden HWY 5, which is the top of my local favorites. I call it The Gecko, its not the Tail of the Dragon, but for KS it is not bad. That Hwy hooks up to one of the exits of the lake. And is not patrolled well, with a speed limit of 25 to 45 but can be run much faster. The lake road was a nice warm up for HWY 5. Anyway on this Sunday a few leasurely rides around the lake is just what I wanted. It was 15 miles getting there and then 3 times around the lake, stopping for some pictures. Although it was warm I actually caught a bit of chill riding.


































































Ninety percent of the road is tree covered and the constant turns gives you the illusion that you are one of few if not the only one traveling the road.



































































The flowers were in full bloom, it has some great areas of local wildflowers:









































































The geese were there, the staff at the lake don’t appreciate the geese, they celebrate when they freeze in lake during the winter. They hang out at the main office filling the sidewalks with goose droppings. These were searching for bugs about half way around the lake from the office.



The road takes you down by the docks:


With more than 16 shelters the lake was pretty busy as most were being used. By the time I had parked Effie back in the garage, she was past 120K and I was ready for nap. One great Sunday afternoon.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb