Hello from Iowa


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa » Ames
June 18th 2007
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Little House PrairieLittle House PrairieLittle House Prairie

Here's a view of the buildings at the Little House on the Pairie museum in southern Kansas.
Hello from Iowa,

Two leisurely days on the road from Tulsa. Sunday I discovered I would be driving right by “The Little House on the Prairie” where Laura Ingalls Wilder lived for a year. So I took the couple of mile detour to check it out. The gift shop/museum didn’t open until the afternoon so I just wandered about for a few minutes. I know the log cabin is a replica of the one they lived in. I’ve not had the opportunity to research the authenticity of the other buildings located at the sight. Here's a link to the website. http://www.littlehouseontheprairie.com

Monday I encountered quite a bit of rain, heavy at times, but otherwise the drive was uneventful. I arrived in Story City, IA about 5:30.

I had an enjoyable visit in Atchison, KS touring the Amelia Earhart Birthplace home. I learned they will be having a big 70th anniversary celebration in Atchison next month. July, 1937 was when she disappeared on her round the world flight.

Saw a sign south of Des Moines for John Wayne’s birthplace, but didn’t have time to stop and take it in.

I had a good connection to the
Amelia Earhart BirthplaceAmelia Earhart BirthplaceAmelia Earhart Birthplace

Here's the home of Amelia Earhart's grandparents where she was born in 1987. The home sits overlooking the Missouri River and has been beautifully restored.
wireless router when I first arrived, but now that two “Loretta Lynn Buses” parked between me and the office, I don’t have a signal. Guess I’ll take the laptop out to a picnic table with a clear view and see if I can upload this and a few photos.

Tuesday I should arrive in Two Harbors, MN. Looking forward to visiting that area. I think most of the rain has passed on through for at least the next couple of days.

Not much else to report tonight.

Bruce


Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0959s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb