Our Day in Smallville


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois
August 21st 2011
Published: February 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

When I heard that the small town of Plano, Illinois, was being transformed into Smallville for the new Superman movie, I knew we had to check it out! This will probably be the only chance I get to see a movie set, and I thought it was pretty cool that it was in Illinois. Plano is a small town about 45minutes to the west of us, near Aurora. Dad likes to ride his bike out here sometimes in the summer, but I don't think I've ever been. I enlisted my mom on this adventure, and the two of us drove there on Sunday.
There is a Main Street in historic Downtown Plano, which has been totally transformed for the movie. Superman is set to begin filming in a few days, so supposedly today is the last day to see the set. It was pretty cool.
Many of the signs on Main Street downtown have been changed to Smallville stores. The depot building has been transformed to Smallville's City Hall. A 7-11 gas station was specially built just for the movie, with fake pumps. Word is, the gas station will be blown up as part of the movie.

We walked aroudn town, and then stopped for a drink in Hard Daze, a bar dad told us he's stopped in on his motorcycle trips. It was a fun day, and I'm excited to see the movie when it comes out, to see what I recognize!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



21st February 2012

Cool Movie Town
It should be really interesting to see the movie. Looking forward to it.

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb